Skip to content

Bento no. 6: Snack onigiris/musubis

January 24, 2010

Over the weekends I usually leave the house at around 11am to do the shopping and other weekend errands. It’s perfect timing for me to wake up between 9-10, have a nice slow breakfast and then take a shower before leaving the house. However, it does leave me hungry at between 12.30pm to 1pm. Slightly annoying when I don’t really want to have something heavy for lunch requiring a visit to a restaurant. It usually ends up with us dropping by the local fish & chip joint (I DO live in the land of fish & chips), some dim sum, the local chinese buffet or a quick instant noodles meal at home.

So this weekend instead of leaving at 11, I decided to try something novel and took an extra 30 minutes to whip us up a snack bento. That way we can eat whenever we are hungry even though we are on the road, whilst not succumbing to paying for blah & unhealthy food.

I combined freshly made sushi rice with some furikake that I bought from Daiso whilst I was in Singapore. I cracked open both the Hijiki and chirimenjako furikake and the noritama furikake. The hubs had developed a liking for the home made carrot & sesame furikake which I stole  from Just Bento  , and I thought I should test out the store-bought ones with him and see which one he’d prefer. With him disliking seaweed, its not easy making up bentos for him!

I tried out the onigiri box that I purchased from Japan Centre last weekend (on sale for £1.99, amazing!). A slightly rubbish box, there was a movable divider in the box, but unlike most onigiri boxes, this one only has one compartment. However, it does fit 3 large onigiris made with the onigiri mould = 1.5cups cooked rice. So I packed the hubs three onigiris and padded out the space with my remaining cherry tomatoes

Whilst I had 3/4 cup of  rice using my heart & star shaped onigiri moulds. With cut out eyes & mouth of course – I REALLY MUST splash out for a nori face punch. I packed this in a teeny box seemingly meant for a side of grapes.

Not sure if you could see it from the pictures, but I added a squirt of wasabi into the rice, turning the hijiki onigiris a speckled green, which I love. I also added leftover toasted sesame seeds, which I really enjoyed as I love sesame seeds. However the hubs was of a different opinion, apparently I added way too much sesame seeds!

It is not the most nutritionally complete of meals as I had run out of vegetables and fruits, but it did keep us sufficiently filled and not succumbing to our usual unhealthy saturday lunch meals. Might try something more adventurous next weekend – but first I need to get back to planning out next week’s bento menu!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2010 7:33 pm

    Lovely shots of pretty onigiri!

  2. January 25, 2010 8:04 am

    Thank you! I am trying to come up with more onigiri fillings…they are so simple yet visually arresting!

  3. January 25, 2010 8:38 am

    Half of the ingredients I don’t understand but I enjoyed looking @ the pics!

  4. January 25, 2010 10:49 am

    HAHAHA

    I must really do english translations – thanks for the reminder.

    hijiki/nori:different types of seaweed
    Chirijimenko: Small teeny fish, like ikan bilis/whitebait
    furikake: dry rice ball seasoning
    noritama furikake: basically egg&seaweed rice seasoning
    Onigiri/musubi: rice balls

  5. January 26, 2010 3:30 pm

    RIGHT.

    It makes more sense now.

    I’m a noob with bento sets.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

