Skip to content

Bento no. 21: Zaru soba with naruto maki

March 9, 2010

Today was one of the days where I really, really fancied soba noodles. It might be because it’s not easy to find a good Japanese restaurant here in Leeds that serves up yummy soba (or Japanese food in general) , or it might just be me wanting to use my hamburger bento box, which is perfect for one serving of soba with toppings. It’s still freezing here, so the weather is definately not a factor – however, it had been spotlessly blue skies all the way, leaving me way too optimistic!

Plus, I couldn’t wait to slice into the naruto maki that I purchsed on my way back from work today! I can never tell the difference between naruto maki & kamaboko other than the ‘design’ – texture wise it feels the same to me. Anyone know what the difference is?

Chilled soba noodles with toasted sesame seed, topped with slices of boiled naruto maki, cucumber flowers, a red pepper flower and sprinkled with nanami togarashi. I added a pack of shredded nori and tsuyu dipping sauce on the top section of the hamburger box – not pictured.
I need to get to making cute looking bentos, unfortunately this week is again swamped at work week, leaving me with no time to be inspired :(.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 8:45 pm

    That looks wonderful! We love zaru soba, it’s my daughters favorite type of noodles. :D

  2. March 9, 2010 9:05 pm

    Thanks Susan – I actually took inspiration from the the saimin bento that you made Paige a while ago – I never thought of noodles in a bento before that!

  3. March 10, 2010 6:03 pm

    I have not tried soba noodles in bento yet but you guys are inspiring me. It looks so delicious.

  4. March 11, 2010 11:15 am

    Thanks Marisa – it’s actually very nice in a soba as room-temperature is the preferred way to consume soba noodles – plus super easy as it only takes 5 mins to prep the noodles (I boil the Naruto with the noodle) = speedy bento of 10 mins prep time!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

