Skip to content

Bento 27: Cheesy Chick bento

March 23, 2010

You know how they say you there is nothing like showing someone the ropes? After losing myself completely in pikko’s how-to video and realising that you take off the cheese before digging into the rice, I decided that it’s time to expand my horizons and dig in. I’ve heard about the toothpick method and have seen countless examples of the lovely girls that churn out one adorable bento after another (you know who you are!!) but had been pretty apprehensive on taking the dip without my reliable cutters. What, cut freehand?? I can’t even draw a straight line…..however, tracing, I CAN!

I had not got any ‘soft’ bits on hand other than sliced cheese – must make sure that I get some soft fish sausage and kamaboko when I next see them. Next, I googled for an easter-themed template…initially I thought I would start easy and decorate an easter-egg shaped onigiri….then I saw this chicklet template that I thought would be pretty easy to start me out on (the hubs later told me that it’s a cockrel..hehehe *naughty*). So I decided to use bits of normal ham and carrots as accents, using a knife when my toothpick died a natural death.

I also had to pad out the bottom of my bento box with celery – this box is slightly too tall to fit my 1/2 cup cooked rice. I topped the celery with half the rice, sprinkle bacon furikake (everything tastes better with bacon!) over it and cover with the rest of the rice…might be a good idea to get a shorter bento box. No, not really, I’m just making excuses to buy more boxes!

.

bento27b
.

Right section: Rice over bacon furikake and celery, chick made out of cheese, carrot, ham and nori cut-out…on a nest of shredded nori

Left section: brocolli topped with carrot flowers, mini clementine, cherry tomatoes, brussels sprout and blueberries….with a chick soy sauce container and a hen pick.

I totally get it now. It is SO REWARDING making something cute! Hopefully I’ll be able to follow up on this easter theme and churn out a few more….I’ve still got my eyes on making an easter egg themed onigiri…and of course, a bunny bento for hapabento’s B.O.M.B! So exciting – just like when I manage to make my first tamagoyaki!

.

PS: Can someone tell me why does the chick look slightly warped on the top right?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2010 11:22 pm

    Aww, the chick is so cute!!! LOL, I love how the chicken pick is peeping his head out of the orange. :D

  2. March 24, 2010 1:49 am

    Isn’t it amazing to make something cute! i’m not a kyaraben or charabentoist. But whenever I get it going it’s so much fun!

    Congrats on your cute chick!

  3. March 24, 2010 2:54 am

    this is a WINNER!!!! you’ve been improving! is this an inspiration from angry bird app?? LOL.

    Well done!

  4. March 24, 2010 5:52 am

    adorable chick theme, love how you’ve carried it through the bottle and pick as well. and great cutting work!

  5. March 24, 2010 7:35 am

    Thanks all – it’s a very simple design (didn’t want to do something too complicated on my first toothpick cutting!) but hopefully there shall be more to come!

    I love easter!

    drey: it wasn’t from angry birds, but you’ve given me an idea now…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

