Skip to content

Bento 52: Biscuits

July 26, 2010

Biscuits are one of my very favourite food in the world – especially Red Lobster-styled cheddar biscuits. If you’re not familiar with American-styled biscuits, no, it doesn’t mean an oreo-like conccotion – it’s more scone-styled of buttery yummyness, but very light and savoury. I can’t seem to find them anywhere else, and extreme googling showed that most biscuit recipes are a modification of Bisquick, not something that is common here either. So this weekend I decided to do some copycat baking, and eventually found a recipe without using bisquick!

Unfortunately, the recipe I used was way too freaking salty – adding salt to a recipe chock-ful of butter and cheese proved to be a huge mistake. Texture and flavour wise it was 90% there, but the salt killed it all. I’ll probably give it another try sometime in the future, but as it stands, it is a damn shame that it is oversalted. I don’t know what to do with the rest of it really, but may go well with some underflavoured soup or stew maybe?

.

Bento52b

.

I used my new tiffin for this – it is one layer but with a removable upper compartment which I had removed in order to fit the food. My MRB (Magic round box – everything just looks NICER in a round box!) contains two biscuits, three mini-burgers and a portion of stirfried peppers with onions from my frozen bento stash, cherries (yep, from the cherry tree!!) and one half of a bright yellow zucchini from my garden! Things are growing in the garden this year, and I am loving it! I have some tomatoes and more zucchini growing, hopefully a fully grown one instead of a tiny ball of a zucchini. And oh, I’m also using a cute hamburger baran that my good friend dreymer got for me – maybe it’s subliminal, but I just noticed that it’s a ‘hamburger’ baran and I’m having mini hamburgers for lunch – Yay!

Including microwaving time for the frozen meatballs & peppers, this bento only took less than 10 minutes to assemble. No kawaii-ness here, but a demonstration that bentos does not require alot of hard work or prep time – and the versatality of having a good bento-stash at your disposal! Although I must admit, this was more like a snack bento, and I copped out and purchased some soup to sink my overly salty biscuits in. It went very well though, the soup was bland-ish enough to soak up the salt. I’m not even going to pack a bento tomorrow – really need to finish up the biscuits, so going to just have another soup with my biscuits!

.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2010 8:10 pm

    Totally gorgeous. Seriously! Instant wonderful lunchtime goodness :)

  2. July 26, 2010 8:27 pm

    It’s a pity the biscuits are too salty because they look fantastic! Cute bento. :)

    • July 26, 2010 8:58 pm

      Thanks Melissa :). I think I’m going to remake the biscuits but omit the salt, think that’ll work quite well, as I do like the texture and flavour of it

  3. July 27, 2010 1:04 am

    Awesome biscuits bento! Everything in this round box looks so pretty and delicious :)

    • July 27, 2010 11:56 am

      Thanks Lia – I think it’s the round box that makes it look nicer than it actually is!

  4. dreymer permalink
    July 28, 2010 7:12 am

    Ah! Yes, I see you used the separator!! Nice one!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

