Skip to content

Bento 66: Animal pasta cups (& new nori cutters!)

August 25, 2010

Guess what came in the post today! After packing bentos for nearly 8 months, this is the first time I’m getting in the action and purchasing bento gear online. I buy bento boxes from Amazon regularly, but not nori punchers. Firstly, they are pretty expensive, with international shipping, it’s usually double the price of what the punchers actually cost. Secondly, I was trying very hard to persuade myself that I don’t have to do cute. Yeah, fat lot of good that did.

.

bento66b

.

Although I must say I showed alot of restraint – I only purchased these punches and the leaf picks that I have been lusting after for months. It probably helped that I had purchased loads of bento gear a few months earlier when I was let loose in Daiso, and friends purchasing for me in the past few months too. Otherwise I won’t have been able to stop at two items.

.

Of course I started playing with themas soon as I got home – and of course my bento tomorrow will feature the cutout shapes :). I made pasta cups with leftover spaghetti dressed with cream cheese and red pesto. They are in individual silicon cups so I can pop them into the microwave if the weather’s still chilly tomorrow. It tastes lovely cold as well. I laid this on a bed of spinach, and added two cherry tomatoes; which sports the leaf pick that I got in the post today. You would notice there is no protein in the bento – I packed a separate miso egg in a side car to ensure I get my protein portion :).

.

bento66a

.

Topping the pasta cups are creatures from my mini cutter set! There is a bunny & a bear made out of polony, whilst the cat and the round-ish creature is cut from cheese. Unfortunately I got slightly sidetracked with the round-ish creature and forgot what was I making – it’s supposed to be a piglet!! But my, it just looks like a round balloon.

.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2010 6:08 pm

    So adorable! I too am lusting after those face nori punches. I will break down and buy them sooner or later, I know. :)

    • August 25, 2010 7:08 pm

      It makes life sooooo much easier! It took me 8 months, but I broke down eventually…..

  2. August 25, 2010 6:29 pm

    Congrats on new toys! So cute!

    • August 25, 2010 7:08 pm

      thanks sheri – it’s always exciting getting new bento toys!

  3. August 25, 2010 11:15 pm

    Hope you are having fun with your new toys! I must say the leaf picks were among my fav! You can see it in almost all my bentos!

    I’m not sure about you but I found that these set of punchers are not so user friendly though… I could never get anything perfect out of them! Issit me or the punchers? :P

    Hope yours will perform better than mine!

    • August 26, 2010 8:05 am

      Thanks so much! Yes, I love the leaf picks, have been wanting them for months now!

      The punchers seem to work fine with me; maybe just need some sharpening by punching through some foil?

  4. August 26, 2010 12:53 am

    Cool new tools! Bento tools are not necessary to have but sometimes they are nice to have to save our time in bento making. Pasta cup is a great idea plus cute too :)

    • August 26, 2010 8:04 am

      bento tools are indeed time-saving! I spent too much time cutting nori freehand…the only problem is bento tools hoarding is too addictive!

  5. August 26, 2010 10:22 am

    This is such a cute way to arrange spaghetti! Thanks for the idea! :)
    I have the same problem with Alice, this set of punchers never work well for me! Maybe I shall try your suggestion to punch through foil to see if I can sharpen it! Or maybe is the seaweed problem?! Just guessing…

    • August 26, 2010 12:49 pm

      Thanks:)

      Hmm, maybe mine will stop working so well after a while – my nori yesterday was actually slightly soft as I had failed to seal it tightly like I usually do – maybe that’s why? It just works better on softer nori rather than the usual crisp sheets?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

