Skip to content

Bento 124: Pancake Day Bento

March 7, 2011

.

bento124d

.

Happy Pancake Day/ Shrove Tuesday/ Ash Tuesday/Mardi Gras tomorrow people! Shrove tuesday is traditionally the 40-day mark before Easter, the last day before the start of Lent. Lent is the traditional period of 40 days of fasting coming up to Easter. It is meant to be the day where all the ‘rich’ ingredients are used up prior to the start of the fasting period. Most catholics I know give up one item that they like instead of going on the full fast; but I did know one who only ate very simple and bland food for 40 days – she treated it like her yearly dieting regime :).

.

Even though I had never been into the fasting part, I am sure into the pancake part! I made (well, bacon made for me) two different sort of pancakes for tomorrow. I had a sweet pancake at the back with nutella for dessert (and a small pot of maple syrup for that extra sweetness) and separated with a lettuce baran. Up front, I had two savoury pancakes stuffed with onions, mushrooms and shredded mozzarella. On the side is a peeled clementine and some radishes for extra texture and colour. Not exactly the healthiest bento on earth (not enough veggies!) , but it’s one of my ‘celebratory’ bentos :). Pancakes are so amazingly versatile; and over the past couple of weeks I had seen some amazing pancakes recipes out there, from the very healthy buckwheat to stunningly colored batter of all colours of the rainbow.

Here’s to Easter making an appearance very very soon!!

.

PS: By the way, do you notice my brand spanking new box? It’s a Light my Fire box that you can get right here! I first saw this at Just Bento and immediately put it on my Christmas list – and also immediately forgot about it :) . I then duly received it as a Christmas present and immediately forgot about it again :). I love the triangle shape – I have no triangle box, so it was interesting packing it :).

.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2011 3:56 am

    Cute! That is a sweet box. It reminds me of the nesting onigiri boxes :)

    • March 13, 2011 8:19 pm

      You know, I never thought of it until you mentioned it – I have a triangle onigiri box as well – may do something on that as a sidecar :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

