Skip to content

Bento 126: Rice with smoked saba & veggies

March 14, 2011

I have started to realise that my recent bentos have been super protein-packed. I tend to get hungry on my way back from work, and find that protein packed bentos keep my hunger at bay for longer. Anyway, I thought it might be a good idea for me to actually get more veggies in my system after some heavy protein lunches; so today’s bento is packed tight with steamed brocollini and snap peas (my fave veggies)

.

bento126aa

.

Tomorrow’s lunch highlights one of my two bento staple; saba with rice. My other, chicken with rice, is also a very popular combo with my tastebuds. I get my saba from a pack; hot-smoked saba is ridicullously delicious. I padded the bento out with brocollini, sliced takuan and again, an ume sitting atop my white rice. No guesses of why the ume is there (other than for flavour). My other layer contains more brocollini and snap peas, two veggie gyozas and a small clementine. I tucked in a defrosted sweet potato ‘leaf’ between the veggies for some color.

.

bento126cc

.

This bento took me about 5 minutes to put together with frozen rice. How simple is that? No decoration whatsoever, but with a little bit of planning, speed bento is a reality. 12 months ago I would never dreamt that speed bentos can be done in less than 30 minutes. I was a slowpoke, and most of my bentos turned out to be car crashes even after working at for an hour sometimes – the key is preserverance!! With this bento, I wasted more time photographing it than making it – can’t wait for the days to continue getting longer so I can at last catch some daylight when photographing my bentos!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 9:57 pm

    I too pack a lot of protein for Pippy. She doesn’t eat any other sources of protein usually, so I try to get it in during lunch. That, and like you, her lunch needs to get her through a few more hours.
    Mackrel is an oily fish, right? I have not had good experiences with smoked oily fishes personally. I keep on trying though, LOL.

    • March 15, 2011 8:15 pm

      Yes mackerel is an oily fish, jampacked with good oils! You can try it cold – fishes sometimes tend to smell slightly when warm; I find that when eaten cooked and cold the smell diminishes drastically :)

  2. March 15, 2011 10:02 am

    Ahhh car crash bentos, I have too many! Lol! I’m impressed with your speed bento-ing, especially when it looks this fresh and delicious!

    • March 15, 2011 8:16 pm

      I am too! I really cannot believe that I can pack lunch in less than an hour – it seemed like only yesterday I spent over an hour making a bento that looked like it’s been dropped on the floor and kicked about…hehe

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

