Skip to content

Bento 127 : Soba salad with edamame & roast beef

March 15, 2011

.

sobasaladE

.

I love soba – especially in a salad form. I still haven’t quite got used to the hot soupy form of soba yet; preferring udon if it was going to be served hot in a soup. I remember the first time I purchased soba – thinking that it was udon. Uh. Yeah. In my defense, I was 18 and had no idea what was what. Thank god I had a Japanese roomate and she schooled me in the difference and how soba was really only popular in the summer (not too sure how true is this?).

.

My go-to soba dish is probably not authentic but it is pretty darn tasty and dare I say a great use of soba. It is also a clever way of using up leftover roast beef – I concotted this dish as a starter once when bacon’s parents dropped by without notice for lunch and I wanted to serve a starter with our mains. They appreciated the cold roast beef more than the noodles; but I fell in love with this tangy, salty and sweet dish. Wonderful in summers; or when you just need a quick meal that just so happens to be bento friendly as well.

.


Soba salad with edamame & roast beef strips

Cooked soba noodles, thoroughly rinsed in cold water to get rid of the starchy residue
thinly sliced leftover roast beef slices (or chicken)
cooked edamame (I chuck mine in towards the end of the soba cooking time)

dressing
1/4 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup rice vineger
1 tbs mirin
1 tsp sugar

garnish
toasted sesame seeds
nanami togarashi (japanese mixed pepper powder)

Instructions? Mix it all up!! Yes, it really is that easy. Not only is it simple, it keeps well cold and room temperature too, making this a perfect SPEEDY bento dish. I take mine out of the fridge in the morning before I leave for work and then just leave it on my desk until lunchtime. I hate it straight-from-the-fridge cold, so this is perfect for me.

.

bento126a

.

In my bento I included some pickles as well to eat with my noodles – the pickles enhances the flavours of the noodles. Two carrot flower sticks, a brocolli and some oranges completes the bento. I love the colours in this one; purple, yellow, orange – and most importantly, all the colorful flavours blends well with each other. I did not realize how fragant this is as well – people could smell the wonderful intermingling of rice vineger and soy sauce with mirin when I opened it up during lunch time. In a good way of course – not like when I decided to bring kimchi jjigae for lunch. heh.

.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2011 8:23 pm

    Totally something I would pack / eat. Lucky you!

    • March 16, 2011 9:23 pm

      hehe thanks sheri. easy and tasty is my motto!

  2. karaimame permalink
    March 15, 2011 10:50 pm

    Pack two and we are done ^^
    Eh. beware my germs. Aahahah

    • March 16, 2011 9:23 pm

      lols! Remember to use a clean pair of chopsticks before digging into my soba :P

  3. March 16, 2011 7:08 am

    So delicious and beautiful!

  4. March 16, 2011 9:02 am

    Mils, your both photos are so delicious! Very nice composition and very bright too … So expert lah :)

    • March 16, 2011 9:24 pm

      Lols – you’re too nice Lia!! I am making an extra effort to becareful of my pictures

  5. March 19, 2011 1:25 am

    Mils, this looks amazing! I agree, the colors are fantastic, I’m so jealous of this bento, it’s making me hungry!!

    • March 21, 2011 7:18 pm

      Heheh…the best part is that it’s just too easy to make!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

