Skip to content

Bento 129: Ume mouse

March 22, 2011

Yes, yes; not only am I obsessed with smoked saba recently I’ve also been obsessed with ume. It is probably because Japan have been on the forefront of my mind in recent weeks – an ume on plain white rice reminds me of Japan more than anything else – except maybe miso. Or nori. Or miso+nori+rice+ume. heh. In the past week I had seen quite a few hinomaru-styled bentos; bento bloggers showing solidarity with the people of Japan.

.

bento129a

.

Tomorrow’s lunch contain an ume on rice – with takuan for ears, eyes and nose to turn it into a mouse. Heh. To go with it is some chicken stew I copied from my grandma. It is tasty and filled with umami – and goes extremely well with plain rice. On the other layer I added some brocollini with sliced cherry tomatoes – was totally going to use the brocollini as a baran but accidentally left it out. To finish, I added 1/2 sliced mini apple. Lunch is served – from leftover dinner :). I packed it all in my microwavable pink double-layer bento box, which is one of my favourite box ever.

Not to mention; as these are all leftovers, start to end (including photography) only took 10 minutes! Win!

.


PS: Please check out Bento4Japan‘s auctions regularly!!! We are constantly putting up new items and you really do NOT want to miss out! Some of our items are shipping worldwide as well, so please bid generously! Charity through Bento – what can be better??

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2011 8:27 pm

    I can safely say that’s the first ume mouse I’ve ever seen, hehe. Chicken stew sounds delish! See you at the auctions—

    • March 22, 2011 8:43 pm

      Heehehe – I shouldve turned the tomato into a mouse too – need to put the recipe for chicken stew up soon!

      Yeah sheri – stay away from my items!! hahahahaahah :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

