Skip to content

Bento No. 1:Introducing the hamburger bento box

January 5, 2010

Yes, I know in my introductory post I stated that I am not going for what is deemed as a ‘proper’ bento box. However, this was too cute to resist, so here is my first effort in 2010.

Bottom level: Pasta salad with tuna, low fat coriander pesto, sweet corn & chopped celery. NO MAYO. Topped with quartered baby carrot sticks for color & texture.
Mid level: cutleries, salt & freshwipe with a iced tea candy.
Top Level: silicon case containing two olives & a sliced gherkin. peeled clementine.
 
Not too bad I reckon. Something very simple for the start of the year….the complicated stuff will come later on when I have recovered. However, I’m hungry again after three hours – it might be the after effect of overeating during Christmas. If it is, serves me right. The burger bento box was less than 500ml; equating to roughly 500kcal.

Another tip that I got from long-term bento makers: you can roughly equate the container size (in ml) with calorie count- so if you stuff a 1 litre box, you’d be eating 1,000 kcal. Ah hah!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2010 9:37 pm

    I was planning to buy this box online but couldn’t imagine how much it would fit, now I know it will be big enough 🙂

  2. Kraig Plomma permalink
    July 15, 2010 6:39 pm

    I am fond of your site for informing a lot of people, it’s just sometimes people seem to get themselves tied up in unnecessary trips over something that’s very simple .

  3. June 24, 2014 3:29 am

    Hey there just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same results.

Trackbacks

  1. Bento no. 7 :floral bento with tuna soboro « not another brown bag lunch…
  2. Bento no. 10 (woo!)- chinese roast chicken & rice « not another brown bag lunch…
  3. Bento 96: Candy corn mapo tofu « not a brown bag

Leave a Reply

