Skip to content

Bento no. 3 : Mapo tofu with tomatoes

January 18, 2010

Today’s lunch is mapo tofu with a side of cherry tomatoes..yums

This is a typical Japanese fusioned Chinese tofu dish – you can get the premix sauce for this at any asian supermarket, just add tofu and some mince. I added celery and mushrooms in mine for taste & texture, carrots work as well. I make my sauce from a jar of chinese sauce mix; yums. You could also make it from scratch from dried chillies and black bean sauce.

Mapo Tofu goes extremely (if too well) well with white rice….therefore I’ve portioned myself to 1 cup of rice and no more. Cherry tomatoes added to pad it out, and fill in the spaces to avoid movement during transfer.

And oh – snowflakes cutout of nori to go with my winter theme 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2010 9:14 pm

    I like how you’ve made the mapo “dry style” to keep your bento lunch fresh and neat. Gorgeous cherry tomatoes! Yum.

  2. January 18, 2010 11:11 pm

    thank you – you’re very kind!

    Yes i do love the dry style of mapo tofu better; less mess definately

  3. January 19, 2010 12:16 pm

    You are getting me all excited about this too…LOL!!!
    I think I might stick to just watching your progress for the timebeing!
    Mapo lunch looks good and I love the nori snowflakes.

  4. January 23, 2010 9:35 pm

    How adorable this snowflake shaped nori is! I love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

