Skip to content

Bento no. 4: Chinese greens with mapo tofu

January 19, 2010

I’m actually ashamed of myself.  Lunch is similar to yesterday’s creation due to overestimation resulting in way too much leftovers.  Mapo tofu again, this time accompanied by blanched ‘kai lan’ – a type of chinese leafy vegetable – dressed with oyster sauce and fried scallions. Soaking up all the juices is the bad-for-you white basmati rice.

I’ve added a decorative nori forest with stars in the sky from my christmas paper punches to entertain me and convince me that this was not also yesterday’s lunch :). Oh well, at least this demonstrates that leftovers can be turned into a bento when you’ve got too much – better than wasting it is what I say! I packed this in a 450ml lock-and-lock container, keeping the mapo tofu juices in the box and also keeping my portions down.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2010 5:58 pm

    Shame on you for having leftovers!

    🙂

    What’s for lunch tomorrow?

  2. January 20, 2010 8:18 pm

    Stay tuned…i spent ageees cooking but it didnt turn out the way i wished it would..grr

Leave a Reply

