Skip to content

Bento no. 7 :floral bento with tuna soboro

January 25, 2010

This week is going to be super busy for me at work, so I made up loads of speedy bento staples over the weekend. One of the staples I made up was tuna soboro – although I did manage to get it so dry it resembles furikake – which is great as it should last longer!  It tasted delish as well and non-fishy smelling – will blog about the recipe sometime this week (before I forget how I made it!)

Monday &  Tuesday in particular is going to be one hard long slog at work – so I thought I would make something interesting to cheer me up half way through the day.  It is getting harder to bring normal-looking lunches to work now, people at work have started asking me what’s for lunch!

The hamburger bento came into use again today as it’s been some time since I filled it. And I must say I am very pleased with my effort today. Well, other than the picture, as it was taken late at night without natural light….I need to do something about the state of lighting (or lack of it) in my kitchen.

Top layer:  two peeled clementines

Bottom layer: 1-cup defrosted frozen brown sushi rice with mixed herbs (been testing out flavoured rice) , tobiko on the top right as the sun, tuna soboro-meets-furikake as the earth, thinly sliced mangetout peas as stalks, carrot flowers topped with kwai fah flower noodle

I have no idea what is kwai fah (Kwai Fah =Osmanthus flower) noodle and had not even heard of it before, let alone had it.  I found it in London last weekend in a large chinese cash & carry and immediately thought of it in a bento box. It tastes rather starchy – but it expands like the way pasta shapes does.  This is how the packaging looks like  –

I most definately enjoyed this bento; both making it and eating it.  I’ve been trying to create some sort of cutesy looking bento lunches  – without a nori punch this had proven difficult as I love faces on my food! I might do something with my leftover tobiko tomorrow; and I still have to use up my aburaage.

One last look at the sunny day bento!

Edit: It seems that the bento world has gone crazy for sunny designs! Have a look at hapabento’s lovely smiley takuwan & happylittlebento’s sunshine thai curry!

Edit 2:  The woman who sits next to me at work took a picture of it before I could have a bite *chuckles*

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 5:25 pm

    Aww, so cheerful! It looks like Spring has sprung in your bento. I never heard of that flower noodle before, but is very cute! Thanks for following up with the happy sunshine theme! I hope we can keep it going around the globe!

  2. January 25, 2010 5:44 pm

    Very spring like! I love it!

  3. January 25, 2010 5:58 pm

    Very pretty bento with the awesome pasta flowers! What a find! I love it that the woman next to you took a picture. 😀

  4. January 25, 2010 8:04 pm

    Thanks so much everyone for commenting…I do love the flower noodle thingy – so lovely as a deco! It’s too adorable to use it all in a proper noodle dish

    I am so looking forward to proper springtime!

  5. January 25, 2010 9:34 pm

    Very sweet bento! Thanks for spreading the sunshine… I like sheri’s idea of keeping this going around the globe. A sunshine wave!

  6. January 27, 2010 7:41 pm

    I adore those flowery noodle shapes! What a great idea 🙂
    I must try to find similar ones as my daughter would love it…

    Have a nice evening, Margot

Trackbacks

  1. Bento no. 8: made-up chirashi sushi with leftovers « not another brown bag lunch…
  2. Bento no. 8: when bad bentos go worse.. « not another brown bag lunch…

Leave a Reply

