Skip to content

Recipe: Tuna Soboro

January 27, 2010

Still feeling unwell, therefore today’s lunch was just a haphazard arrangement of frozen rice and some of my frozen bento stash that I accumulated over the weekend…I could show you, but you’d probably cry at the state of it :).  So I thought today would be a perfect time to catch up on my recipe post.

Soboro can be made out of meat or fish – and is very similar to furikake. The major difference is that whilst furikake lasts fairly long, a soboro made out of meat or fish(usually salmon?)  is of course bound to go off sooner, and thus does not keep as long. The less moisture it has, the longer it lasts. My version of the tuna soboro came to be when I decided to have a bit of tuna with my instant noodles one night. What do I do with the rest of the tin?? The cat usually gets it, or it goes in a sandwich the day after. Seeing that I had kinda sworn off sandwiches, I thought I should turn it into some sort of stuffing for my onigiris or as an okazu (side dishes to go with rice).

Inggredients

  • 1 can tuna, drained
  • 1 tbs mirin (I actually used proper sake)
  • 2 tbs rice vineger
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • toasted sesame seeds – to taste
  • soy sauce – to taste; I used about 1tsp

First stir-fry the tuna on a wide non-stick pan rapidly, with no oil. Add mirin and rice vineger. Continue stirring rapidly, adding sugar and toasted sesame seeds. I love sesame seeds, so I put in quite alot for me but less for the hubs. When it looks fairly dry and floss-like, stir in soy sauce and continue stirring so it doesn’t burn but still soaks up the goodness of the seasonings. This would be the time to mix in shredded nori if you’re using it – I didn’t this time as I was making it for both of us, but will be when I try this recipe out again next time.

The whole process would take about 10-20 minutes. Just remmeber to keep stirring to keep the tuna from burning. You can keep this in the fridge in an airtight container for a good few days.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2010 8:21 pm

    Oh no, I hope you are feeling better soon! Thanks for sharing the recipe! 😀

  2. January 29, 2010 2:12 am

    Nice 🙂 Like pork floss

  3. paizleysun permalink
    March 23, 2015 8:12 pm

    My Japanese mother used to make soboro a lot while we were growing up. I loved it, still do! She used to add some chili pepper flakes to it. Try it! Thanks!!

Trackbacks

  1. Bento no. 13: konbu flavoured rice & bunny egg « not another brown bag lunch…
  2. Recipe: Dry-flaked miso tuna & onigiris/rice ball shaping « not another brown bag lunch…

Leave a Reply

