Skip to content

Bento no. 9: Freezer stash saves the day

January 28, 2010

I’m still fighting my winter cold…it’s been on for a week and I still feel horrid. Bento compiling activities have been on the low for a few days now, and I am ever so thankful that I took time last week to build up a freezer stash. So today’s bento is made fully out of my ‘stash’ – well, other than the SPAM and the vegs.

From right – Frozen claypot chicken rice (recipe to come), a slice of SPAM ‘baran’, two pre-frozen gyoza, sugar snap peas & a baby sweetcorn, three edamame on a stick made out of dry spaghetti and at the bottom, some cherry tomatoes.

I love the SPAM baran! We had SPAM for dinner (I am sick…) and the leftover just fits perfectly into my box, dividing up my rice from other goodies. We also had gyozas for dinner (the hubs was cooking, so dinner was all reheated stuff from the freezer!) and I saved two to pop it in as well. One of the bento blogs that I compulsively stalk (I don’t actually remember which one, but if it was your idea, do let me know!) suggested using spaghetti as food picks; they soften by lunch time and you can eat it then or just leave it. Fab idea, esp for someone without any cute picks!

I spent about 3 minutes putting the food together, which is not bad at all on nights where you’re too tired/sick/uninspired. The time I spent over the weekend building up my freezer stock was well worth it!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2010 7:23 pm

    That’s awesome, such a cool divder! It fits perfectly! Hope you get well soon.

  2. January 28, 2010 7:35 pm

    thanks so much – not the world’s healthiest meal, but the SPAM does fit perfectly in the box!

    • January 29, 2010 12:17 am

      Shhh, don’t tell anyone, but I am a SPAMaholic. I try not to give it to my kids too much but I can’t resist a good spam musubi. 😀

  3. January 29, 2010 2:14 am

    Mmmm yums. This one looks more Chinesey..

  4. January 31, 2010 10:31 pm

    susan: HEHE I understand exactly what you mean! However you’re hawaiian, so it’s an excuse! The great delicacy here is deep fried spam from the fish & chip stall…mm mm good

    drey: The claypot chicken rice gave it away? Hehe. I love home made claypot chicken rice.

Leave a Reply

