Skip to content

Bento no. 10 (woo!)- chinese roast chicken & rice

January 31, 2010

Much belated posting from last week – my final bento of the week, also signifying my 10th proper bento made!

I was beyond excited when I got my first proper Japan-made bento box. Well, not entirely true. My burger bento box is technically a real bento box (they sell them at j-list ect) but the round shape and very shallow top layer makes it hard to separate my food out, making it more like a single layer round container – ableit a really cute one. What was better with this rectangular bento box was the fact that it arrived in 2 days (with free shipping!)  – what a pleasant suprise! I really want to get another, right about NOW! It is microwavable as well, which was what I was worried about as I love to nuke my lunch, and bento boxes are not known for being nukeable as bentos are traditionally eaten at room temperature.

I washed it out  immediately (with love of course 😉 ), and set about planning tomorrow’s lunch. I was unfortunately still unwell from my bad cold, and seeing that we were having my super-easy chinese 5-spice roast chicken and rice, I thought it would just be reasonable if I just pop that into my new box. I should’ve probably done something Japanese and not chinese – but that’s the beauty of bentos – it can be everything!

Bottom layer: 1-cup basmati rice cooked in chicken stock  – with snowflake nori cutout

Top layer: sliced roast chicken breast, sugar snap peas, carrot flowers and two clementines.

I do love the bento box!! Forget about the prettiness, it is definately more convenient being able to divide food up in two layers, with the bottom layer just *perfect* for my one cup of rice.  The width is also perfect for stuffing in my handbag to tot to work.  Well well, the addiction has started….I went out today and purchased a lock & lock with two removable compartments. I am so tempted to get another box, exactly the same but with red spots. Boy, I am so dead.

This is how it looks like inside 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 12:58 am

    Congrats on your new super-cute pink bento. (I love pink too)! Pretty food detail and presentation. Love it.

  2. February 1, 2010 1:40 am

    i really love this box, it has so many pieces and parts! and the food you put in it looks super tasty, love the way the orange carrot flowers and the clementine echo each other’s hue!

  3. February 1, 2010 8:10 am

    Thanks gamene & hapabento – I feel that I am picking up so much from stalking your bento blogs! I learn so much about colour and balance – proves that a bento doesn’t have to be super kawaii (although I would love to get there!) to be presentable!

    Was initially not too sure about the super sickly pink, but am definately getting used to it now!

  4. February 1, 2010 11:13 am

    That box is really cute ^_^

  5. February 1, 2010 12:27 pm

    Thanks Uniflame – its available here http://bit.ly/6FUve7 if you’re interested!

    Need to get together a list of bento gear with low priced shipping to Europe..

  6. February 1, 2010 7:58 pm

    What an adorable box! The pink tones and pretty cartoon sweets are enchanting. Nicely filled with bright fruits and veggies and delicate nori-cut outs 🙂

  7. February 1, 2010 8:15 pm

    thank you Jenn!

Leave a Reply

