Skip to content

Bento no. 11 – onigiris and tamagoyaki

February 1, 2010
tags: , ,

Yay! Now that I am officially on double-digits in my bentos, I celebrated by going bentogear shopping :D. Not really, as there are no actual places like Ichiban Kan and Daiso to get bentogear from, but I had my bento hat on whilst out shopping. …you’d be suprised how many things out there can be used in a bento!

I fell in love with a 550ml double compartment lock-and-lock container. It is flatter than my previous lock and locks, and I do love the removable double compartments, enabling me to either use one, both or none of the divider! No cute-factor at all, but its definately a perfect size for my lunch.

 

Left compartment: heart shaped mini-onigiris with carrot furikake,  raddichio leaf salad, tamogoyaki & soy sauce pig

Right compartment: mini-onigiri, more tamagoyakis, picks of blueberries & cherry tomatoes

My tamagoyaki did not do so well this time – I tried making a 3-egg tamagoyaki on a round pan and it just literally went EVERYWHERE. Hmm. I think it’s the oil – I used sweet almond oil instead of vegetable oil this time, and I should’ve really stuck with veg. oil. I also remembered to add soya sauce this time; thus the darker colour of the egg too. Must practice more..

I tweeted about this, but don’t you just love my picks disguised as nails!?? I searched high and low for food picks and found some at long last – on 50% off as well = £2.25 for 18. I love how they are all slightly differently shaped – some are straight and some are slightly wonky in different ways. It is definately great to own some food picks at last instead of using toothpicks and spaghetti – although the spaghetti was quite fun, it had lost its shape by lunchtime.

Eeek! Wonder what food stuff would look fab with nails?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 8:26 pm

    You “nailed” it! LOL! Clever girl! Don’t you just love lock & lock boxes. I have a favorite one that I use for bento too. Heart shaped rice look delish.

  2. February 1, 2010 9:11 pm

    HAAHAH! You do come up with the greatest bento jokes – always makes me laugh 🙂

    If only kawaii bento boxes are made like lock & locks….they are so fantastically practical!

  3. February 2, 2010 7:32 pm

    The nails are adorable – what a great accent. Kudo’s to you for even trying to make tamagoyaki. I just admire it in everyone elses bento. Nice job.

    • February 3, 2010 10:08 pm

      thank you so much karina 🙂

      If you want to try it out, be sure to start with one egg…my one egg tamagoyaki tastes/looks much much better than my 3 egg, but thats just because I’m a bento noob 🙂

Leave a Reply

