Skip to content

Bento no. 12: inari-zushi with thai fish cakes

February 2, 2010

I was very annoyed that it took me the best part of 1.5hrs to complete this bento. For starters, I was unable to find my prized find of stars and flowers cookie cutters! Then for some stupid reason I thought it was a great idea to start cooking rice…even though I had a large freezer stash! AAARGH! I didn’t even realize it until I had finished washing the rice – so as an afterthought added a piece of konbu.

Left with no stars or blossoms cookie cutters, my plan for a pretty inari-zushi garden bento were completely ruined. I tried salvaging it by using my also-brand-new teddy bear cookie cutter and ended up with something like a teddy bear’s picnic bento..

Top layer: Cutout from the thai fish cake (cooked from frozen) on top of some red sweet peppers, baby sweet corn and two clementines

Bottom layer: 4 inari-zushis with baby sweet corn flowers & red pepper teddy bear accent.

I loved the rice cooked with konbu! It gives it a very delicate umami flavour..mm mm good. Definately something that I will be doing again.  I mixed in some peas and surimi (crabsticks) to add flavour and texture to the otherwise plain rice dish – adding to the umami imparted by the konbu. I just mix the konbu in after cooking …it kinda resembles wakame after cooking anyway.

This is the box I made for the hubs:

As you can tell it is more of a teddy bear’s picnic on his than mine – he has his lunch in a meeting on Tuesdays, and it tickles me to think of all those people in their oh-so-serious three piece suits munching into sandwiches whilst he pulls out a pretty looking box of food that they’ve never seen before! So Tuesdays I put more kawaii effort on his whilst I get all his cut-outs…:(. Case in point – I got the leftover pepper cutouts from the teddy bears whilst he gets the cute bears!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 1:26 am

    Cute teddy bears!! ^_^

  2. February 3, 2010 11:18 am

    Yummy Inari Sushi and cute two colors bears 🙂

  3. February 3, 2010 6:49 pm

    thank you melanie & lia!

  4. February 4, 2010 5:20 am

    Good job with the teddies! Lovely, tasty looking bento 🙂

    • February 4, 2010 9:29 am

      thanks sheri! Looking at it now, I really should have inserted the red cutout into my fish cake…o well..live and learn, I am afterall a bento noob!

  5. February 4, 2010 5:30 pm

    What a wonderful bento! Well done! Loving your teddy bears picnic!

Trackbacks

  1. Teddy Bears Picnic Bento – Bento Central

Leave a Reply

