Skip to content

Bento no. 13: konbu flavoured rice & bunny egg

February 3, 2010
tags: , ,

Hanging my head in shame, I had been away with work today, and had my first brownbagged lunch in many moons. Proper sandwich and crisps ( uh, packs of chips are known as crisps in the UK) as well, washed down with some OJ. So I can’t, just CAN’T wait to get back to my normal bentos tomorrow….even though the travelling absolutely knocked me out, I knew I am unable to face normal lunch food tomorrow – I fell asleep at about 3.30pm after my sandwich & crisps!

What is a girl to do when you’re too tired to cook? Well, speed bento! Just because you’re having something quickly thrown together it doesn’t mean it can’t be visually arresting (or what I think is arresting to me!).

Bottom tier: leftover konbu (sea kelp) -infused inari sushi rice with the last of my tuna soboro

Top tier: watermelon, nailed (hehe) blueberries , clementine slices surrounding a bunny-molded egg, blanched baby sweetcorn and sugar snap peas, sliced sweet peppers and some mixed salad leaves at the bottom. Oh, and a soy sauce pig to umami-fy my egg. Yes I know umami-fy is NOT a word…

I wanted to prove that leftovers bits of vegetables and rice does not have to be uninspiring or boring…and hopefully I have succeded with this bento. The only freshly cooked item was the molded egg, which I added some badly-cut nori features – boy, can’t WAIT till I get my nori punch! On the flipside, including making the egg from fresh, this bento took less than 20 minutes to put together  -definately a vast improvement from my haphazard attempt yesterday!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 7:26 pm

    I love it! Pretty and fresh bento with a bunny egg too! 😀 I love the nail pick, so cute!

  2. February 3, 2010 11:28 pm

    Bright and colorful! Cute bunny and tricky nail pick are awesome in your bento 🙂

  3. February 4, 2010 8:03 am

    thank you lia & susan!!

    I really must get more of the nail picks – seemed to have gone down a hoot. If anyone can think of better uses for it (i.e. gory looking bentos) let me know!

  4. February 4, 2010 11:55 am

    This is brilliant and really shows the versatility of bento in the realms of a busy lifestyle ^_^

  5. February 4, 2010 5:22 pm

    Cute and well-composed “speed bento”! Watermelon looks juicy and vibrant 🙂

    • February 4, 2010 10:10 pm

      thank you lorelei & Jenn! Proves that you can still have nutritious delicious and healthy food even if you don’t have time.

Leave a Reply

