Skip to content

Bento no. 15: L.O.V.E

February 8, 2010

I wanted to do something REAL cheesy today – plus test out my rice colouring technique, of course. After reading about Sheri’s adventures on being landed with a cooked beet on top of rice colored rice, I thought I might try out a different technique before Friday’s beloved bento prep.

.

I chopped 1/4 beetroot up finely, and mashed it in with microwaved rice from my frozen bento stash. The bright red colour immediately started to seep into the rice, making it a vibrant pretty red. As you can see there are still bits and pieces of beetroot in the rice – I didn’t mind it as I love beetroot and biting into pieces of it. It tastes and smells of beetroot, so if you don’t like beetroot you might want to try another natural method of dyeing your rice – I am going to try the purple cabbage coloring method next. In the meantime, I am still very impressed with the lovely bright red!

Top layer:  Red hearts onigiri stuffed with tuna soboro and topped with cucumber alphabets (heehee) , lettuce, brocolli and baby sweetcorn.

Bottom layer: Watermelon & blueberries, tamagoyaki with shredded nori and a chick-topped soy sauce container (filled, of course!)

Erm…yeah, I DID say cheesy didn’t I? Needed to try out my alphabet cutters before Friday as well, and I must say I do absolutely love it! So pretty!!! Not only that, I can this on Hapa Bento’s B.O.M.B  theme of red & lovey dovey for Valentine’s Day. …defo doing loads of red bentos lately. I’m also going to be a good girl and not force the hubs to bring this to work tomorrow… 😉

But my proudest achievement in this bento has got to be the tamagoyaki. It.Is.Fabulous. Okay, might not be super amazing, but it is definately the BEST I’ve ever made…hmm, not really that impressive seeing that this is my third try in tamagoyaki.  I first tried the one-egg tamagoyaki and it turned out fine. Then I tried the 3-egg, but it turned out rubbish. I used two eggs on this one, and added some shredded nori towards the end (forgot about it to start with). And I must say, texture, size, colour and flavour, it is EXACTLY what I’m looking for in a tamagoyaki. Love it! Might want to try getting a rectangle tamagoyaki pan to get it properly shaped, but this is definately where I want to go with on my tamagoyaki making. I am definately proud – I just hope I continue to improve on this and it’s not just a minor blip!

Okay, need to stop blogging and go pick a Beloved Bento winner…

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2010 8:02 pm

    beautiful bento – the rice is so vibrant and the letters are perfectly cut!

  2. February 8, 2010 8:07 pm

    Yay! Chopping up the beet with cooked rice is my fave way. Your tamagoyaki looks great too! Don’t even need any fancy pans for you! Love-ly bento!

  3. February 8, 2010 8:12 pm

    Wonderful! This is a fantastic bento!! ^_^

  4. February 8, 2010 8:17 pm

    Love it! Cheesy but also very cute and definately brightened up my slightly pants Monday ^_^

  5. February 8, 2010 8:19 pm

    Cool tamagoyaki and heart onigiri! Great Valentine’s Day bento! 😀

  6. February 8, 2010 9:17 pm

    Thank you all – the red is brightening up what looks to be the start of a bleah week for me ….can’t wait for lunchtime!!

  7. February 8, 2010 9:36 pm

    Wow! What a beautiful bento. Wish I could’ve eaten it… OISHIIIII

  8. February 9, 2010 4:23 am

    I want this bento! This is my favourite of all. Maybe can cut strawberries in heart shape next time too!! I HEART THIS!

  9. February 10, 2010 10:07 pm

    I am very impressed with your natural way to dye the rice this lovely shade of red! I love a bit of beetroot on a cheese sandwich, but never tried it in rice – will have to try that idea! Thanks!
    Love the Bento as a whole – very colourful, well done! :o)

Trackbacks

  1. The L.O.V.E. bento – Bento Central
  2. winged heart bento « bento zen

Leave a Reply

