Skip to content

Bento 17 & 18 :Beloved Bento

February 11, 2010

The title of this post should really be cracking under pressure.  Literally. Everything that could possibly go wrong DID. First the rice. It went completely wrong, not too sure if my rice cooker had given way at last or was it just this new bag of rice that I’ve grabbed. It was damp, but NOT sticky!! AAARGH!!

To top it off, this is the first time ever that I’m making a bento for someone other than myself and the hubs. Despite all the practice that I’ve been doing all week, my onigiris wouldn’t stick, my yakitori refuses to get all sticky, my coloring was SHOCKING, and then to top it all off – I had forgotten to buy fruits!! GAHH! So this is a no-fruit bento…thank god for mung bean mochi in my fridge!! I then proceeded to boil and color some eggs to pop into the egg mold – whaddaya know, the eggs were too small for the mold!!! So two eggs wasted, one semi-resembling a heart and another semi-resembling a bear. SIGH.

The winners’ prize

Top layer: Heart shaped onigiri stuffed with tuna soboro , carrot alphabets stuck on with mayo and brocolli to pad it out

Bottom layer: tofu,sweet potato and carrot flower blooms yakitori topped with nanami togarashi & sesame seeds, tamagoyaki with nori and topped with yellow pepper flower blooms , mochi with a blueberry.

This is how it looked like next to the matching cooler bag..

.

I also made one for Emma, the organiser who made this all possible and delivering the beloved bento to the winner due to my complete bonkers work schedule – I need to stop working. Did not have an extra bento box so popped it all in a takeaway disposable plastic box….proves that even a measly throwaway box is good for bentos – it really doesn’t have to be a pretty box! Although I am most definately partial to the double layered bento design – it just makes life soooo much easier!

Four heart shaped onigiri stuffed with tuna with carrot alphabets, tofu,sweet potato and carrot flower blooms yakitori topped with nanami togarashi & sesame seeds, mung bean mochi and red pepper blossoms.

.

So there you go. Beloved Bento. Learning points? Yeah, I should really make sure that I have time to do it all! In between packing to go away on holiday and work getting all crazy, I really shouldn’t be playing bento. I guess the one good thing is that my tamagoyaki turned out ok – yay! It’s not a fluke that I can actually make tamagoyaki..its true!!! After the fiasco with the not-quite-right eggs I was so glad that at least I have tamagoyaki to fall back on!

.

And oh, by the way, this is my LAST bento for two weeks. Yes, I am officially on hiatus from bento-making – off to the land Down Under for two weeks during Chinese New Year, in which I shall be eating restaurant bentos but not actually making them for myself. So there.

I will hopefully be bringing back with me of tales of hunting down bento gear from the land down under…wish me luck!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 10:31 pm

    i think they both came out beautifully!

  2. February 11, 2010 11:33 pm

    I agree with gamene, they turned out great! 🙂 Have fun on your vacation! 😀

  3. February 12, 2010 12:43 am

    Those bentos look great. Don’t put so much pressure on yourself. Have fun on your trip. I want to see pics lots and lots of pics. Oooow I hope you can find some cool bento stuff there. Have fun.

  4. February 12, 2010 1:55 am

    Two fantastic bentos! They look beautiful. And have a great trip!!!

  5. February 12, 2010 4:25 am

    They definitely look delicious.

    One thing though: Unless I’m mistaken, the word yakitori specifically refers to chicken. (tori = chicken.)
    From what I remember, if your referring to something else non-specific that’s skewered/grilled/fried, it’s kushiyaki.

    If I am totally mistaken, please let me know, but I figured it might be important to throw that out there.

  6. February 12, 2010 1:33 pm

    all: you guys are too nice! thanks all – I must really chill out more…cracking under pressure! Do look forward to the hols – and hopefully some bento sightseeing whilst I’m Down Under!!

    will: hey, I didnt know that-but it’s true!! It specified yakitori sauce, with skewers of veggies, but translations are never the best…kushiyaki it is then!

  7. Kirsty Ware permalink
    February 12, 2010 1:41 pm

    well i was the winner of this beautiful box, and it looked and tasted amazing! everything i put in my mouth i was saying “wow, how does this taste so good?” – even the brocolli tasted fabulous (what do you do to your brocolli? seriously, it’s the best i’ve ever eaten!)

    i’ve saved a bit for rob, because he was lovely enough to nominate it for me, but it keeps looking at me and saying “but you know i’m lovely, why won’t you eat me?”

    thank you so much, you’ve made my week!

Trackbacks

  1. Happy 100th Bento Giveaway Winner « not a brown bag

Leave a Reply

