Skip to content

Bento no. 20: Chicken rice & Usagi ringo

March 8, 2010

Whoa…it’s taking me much much longer than anticipated getting back into the grand scheme of things. In between unpacking, laundry, and general getting back into the scheme of things, I have been sorting out pictures from my trip – which is still unsorted as of today. Last week have been filled with meeting people for lunch (had lunch out twice) – coupled with my inability to concentrate in the grocery store, bento-worthy veggies were not part of my supermarket trolley = confused looking lunches when I did make it twice. Even my cooked dinners became very confused – I forgot to start off my curry with onions. Another day I was trying to make a bolognase and ended up with chilli instead. Sigh.

I knew things were definately sloping downhill when I succumbed to a salad-soup combo today – home made salad (ableit I did cut out the ham & cheese into stars) with a canteen-purchased slurry disguising as vegetable soup. AND a chocolate.  Horrors. So I dropped by the market today to pick up some bento-worthy veggies….not quite there yet, but at least I’m not having soup-salad or soup-sandwich combo for tomorrow’s lunch

Top:  Basmati rice cooked with fresh chicken stock – cucumber & yellow pepper flower slices

Bottom: Usagi ringo (apple bunnies), padded out with blueberries and cucumber flower slices. Roast chicken slices padded out with yellow peppers & cucumber flower slices – and a soy sauce fish.

Hmm. I’m not quite there yet as you could probably see – colors do not look too hot, would probably look much better with a bright brocolli floret or two.  A strawberry would also look nice. Hmm. Instead, I tried dyeing the cucumber slices pink (was thinking of sakura flowers) but that did not work out very well – leaving me with lacklusture faded pink colored cucumber flowers. Hm.

Well – at least I’m going in the right direction.  Another trip is required to the supermarket I think – and some brainpower for inspiration!

Got a request for non-cute regular-shaped sandwiches from the hubs – could not resist adding a smiley face and some usagi ringo too:)

And oh, this is my first time with the apple bunnies – I soaked them in a salt solution, at which point the points started curling up like crazy. Is it supposed to go all curly wurly? I thought it was only supposed to curl up ever so slightly?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2010 10:54 pm

    Hiya there I don’t know about them going curly, but you could try squeezing a little lemon juice onto the apples – that stops them from going brown.

  2. March 9, 2010 7:44 am

    hiya

    Yes I did, after dipping them in brine. The ears curled up immediately after coming into contact with the salt water – at one point it looked like it could turn spiral! Not sure if that’s normal?

  3. March 9, 2010 9:04 am

    Hmm.. I wonder why bacon requested for an ‘uncute’ lunch. HAHA.. Still looks damn cute to me!

  4. March 9, 2010 12:29 pm

    hahaha 🙂

    So annoying – what do you mean plain sandwiches? O well. More plain cheese-ham sandwiches for tomorrow, wonder what am I going to put on his sandwiches as decoration?

Leave a Reply

