Skip to content

Bento 25: Golden stars bento in NEW Happy Noodle bentobox!

March 16, 2010

I’ve been having a horrible few days at work feeling generally tired and blah. So I decided to recognise myself by awarding me golden stars! Hey, if I don’t recognize myself, who would right? At least I’ll have a moment of deep calm and happiness when I open up my box at work – my NEW box!! If you’ve somehow missed it, I’ve tweeted about it here complete with pictures.

Frankly, I am amazed. Non-virtual stores in the UK actually designing and selling their own bento boxes. This collection even comes with an entire line of the Happy Noodle design range. Yes, I did say non-virtual shop, Paperchase is a fabulous stationer here in the UK, churning out unique and kitcsh stationeries and other fab stuff for the back to school crowd. So, my Happy Noodle Bento Box is also available for purchase on Amazon, complete with matching Happy Noodle chopsticks and matching Happy Noodle cutleries. A word of caution, this bento box is non microwaveable but is dish washer safe. I really hope this is a sign of things to come with more retailers jumping on the bento bandwagon.

Oh, back to the bento. Today’s bento features my spanking new bento box and matching chopsticks, and loosely based around St. Patricks Day tomorrow and my need for self recognition. I tried for ages looking for a four leaf clover cookie cutter but no avail. Oh well. I just have to make do with a overload of greens then!

.

bento26

Top layer: three star-shaped onigiris mixed in with finely minced carrot, powdered tumeric & cumin, padded out with garlic brocolli and carrot stars.

Bottom layer: Garlic brussels sprouts & brocolli, cherry tomatoes, another onigiri, carrot stars, blueberries on a starfish pick and a side cup of strawberry Lotte koala crackers.

My onigiris came from my frozen rice stash . I microwave pre-portioned rice for 1 minute, just barely enough to soften but not to completely defrost it. I mixed in the 1/3 finely grated carrot, cumin and tumeric. I further zap it until it’s completely warm, and form the onigiris with the piping hot rice. If you are using hot rice, just add the seasonings whilst the rice is hot. Mixing in carrot gives it a light orangey color – I added cumin and tumeric as I was wanting a slightly curry slant to the onigiri, and a brighter goldeny color.

Whilst letting it cool, I quickly steam/boil my sprouts & brocolli in lightly salted water – with just 1/4 inch of water in the pan. I remove it from the water partially cooked (which I then dropped carrot stars in to slightly cook it) , and then I panfry the brocolli & sprouts with lazy garlic from a jar. This bento only took me 15 minutes to prepare from start to finish, making it a fabulous speed bento repetoire! I was having egg for breakfast, so made a conscious decision to omit protein from lunch. I stuck to the generally green theme as a nod to St. Patricks’ Day….whilst the yellow/orange theme is awarding myself with golden stars. Woo!

.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 8:26 pm

    I love all the stars. Looks yummy!

  2. March 16, 2010 8:31 pm

    thanks melanie! It tastes slightly like briyani rice – love it!

  3. March 16, 2010 9:46 pm

    Such pretty star onigiri! Fantastic! Gold star for you πŸ™‚

  4. March 17, 2010 12:28 am

    I love your new happy noodle box, and how the star pick matched the carrot stars, and the cute biscuits :o) Well done :o)

  5. March 17, 2010 6:23 am

    Cute bento with all of the carrot and onigiri stars!!! Such a cute bento box too. πŸ˜€

  6. March 17, 2010 9:21 am

    You deserved all the shining stars! Love the cute box with matching chopsticks πŸ™‚

  7. March 22, 2010 8:53 pm

    Thanks sheri, susan, lia & bentoboxuk πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

