Skip to content

Bento 26- Bacon onigiris & tamagoyaki (+ new pan & bento box!)

March 22, 2010

Works’ been crazy again – resulting in lack of postings as usual. Aargh. How I wish I can make bentos for a living :). Just imagine, all day long to be creative in cooking, shaping, making, planning and decorating food.

I purchased a one egg tamagoyaki pan whilst in Australia for AU9, which was pretty reasonable I thought. Although I did find it hidden in a dusty asian grocery store, behind some random bags of food items…probably contributing to the reasonable pricing as well.

bento26e

I love tamagoyakis, and had only started making them in the past few months. I’ve been fairly succesful in making tamagoyaki in regular round pans, one egg, two egg or three egg. However, with a one-egger, it makes a pretty skinny tamagoyaki and not very pretty. However, this mini tamagoyaki pan is only suitable for a one-egger…that’s probably a good thing; I love tamagoyakis and can have them with all my meals :). I also found it difficult rolling the egg in a rectangle pan – can’t decide if it’s easier in a round pan or rectangle pan, but it definately looks better from a rectangle pan!

bento26a

I also purchased a new bento box (whoop!)….I couldn’t resist the cheap price of AU2.25. I had to stop myself from buying it in three different colors…such restraint I show! It even comes with a plastic spoon that fits under the cover. Its’ got kanji written all over it, but most definately el cheapo made in china material. Oh well. No microwave or dishwasher then.

bento26H

Left section: Pink-tinted onigiris stuffed with bacon furikake & topped with carrot hearts, padded out with blanched brocolli.

Right section: Tamagoyaki nori, mini clementine, blanched brocolli topped with carrot hearts, cherry tomatoes, blueberries

Am most definately going bonkers with new bento boxes….I have shown marvellous restraint, but am most definately falling deeper and deeper into the trap that is bento gear hoarding. I think my favourite style is still the traditional double layer portable bento box with dividers. I am now on the hunt for a round box – the possibilities!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 9:38 pm

    Lovely, mils! Fantastic score!

  2. March 22, 2010 9:59 pm

    thanks sheri! This is getting so addictive…..my kitchen cabinets are bursting with plastic containers!

  3. March 22, 2010 10:04 pm

    Nice pan and the egg turned out really nice!!

  4. March 22, 2010 10:07 pm

    Thanks pikko – I started having a go at making tamagoyakis when I couldn’t stop salivating at yours!

  5. March 22, 2010 11:19 pm

    Lovely bento! I can see you will have a lot of fun with that new tamagoyaki pan hehehe … nice tamagoyaki nori, you did it very well šŸ™‚

  6. March 23, 2010 1:49 am

    I like that it has a removable section. Nice score and good job on the tamagoyaki! I need to get me one those pans!

  7. March 23, 2010 10:01 am

    Great job on the tamagoyaki in the traditional pan. I still have a fear of using one of those but one day I will get one. Good thing you are able to do it well in both type pans. 2 thumbs up.

  8. March 23, 2010 10:11 am

    Thanks lia & debra – the pan is so tiny, perfect for bentos! There is another one double its size, which I think is a normal tamagoyaki pan..

  9. March 23, 2010 10:25 am

    marisa – no one was more suprised than myself when my tamagoyakis came out resembling one and not scrambled eggs!

    I think it’s probably easier with the round pan as you can use a spatula to ‘roll’ it up-the rectangle pan produces a good shape though.

Leave a Reply

