Skip to content

Bento 28: More Cheesy Chick & Chicken (huh??)

March 24, 2010

Right, I promise this will be the absolute last of my cheesy chicks! I was so pleased with what I made yesterday I decided to do it again – having my colleagues snap pictures of my lunch was motivation enough….love it when my lunches get papped! Does it happen to you often or are my colleagues just not used to lunches that does not consist of a soggy sandwich? I tried googling for a bunny template, but the only template I could find seem to be the one that megan used in her lovely spring bunny bento! I’m still scared that I might break the bunnys’ fragile hind legs still…so I decided to go for a rotund shape again today. The top of the chick is supposed to represent eggshells … I think!

It wasn’t until after I laid the chick down that I realised my rookie mistake – why is my chick laid on a bed of boring white rice?? It could REALLY do with a colored rice background, and some added flowers around the chick. This is what happens when I multitask- I was cooking dinner at the same time. Not to mention I still had work on my mind….hard times. Ah well – there is always next time- hopefully I’ll be brave enough to do a bunny!

bento28a

Top section: 5-spice roast chicken, carrot flowers, peapods, cucumber flowers, two cherry tomatoes, four giant red grapes, broccoli and a soy sauce fish…couldn’t be bothered to refill my chick soy sauce bottle from today 🙂

Bottom section: Basmati rice cooked with chicken stock, ginger & screwpine leaf, topped with chick made out of contrasting colored sliced cheeses with nori detail.

.

Today’s bento took less time to put together compared to yesterday, seeing that I made it the same time as I was making dinner. Probably helps that I used the leftovers from dinner for this bento and did not have to defrost rice/ cook up a protein. I am getting faster at this cheese-cutting thing, and my new craft knife is proving handy at slashing through nori.

PS: OKAY so did ANYONE notice that the right wing is upside down?? So embarrasing..

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2010 9:11 pm

    Awww, adorable! Be sure to add to Bento Central!

  2. March 24, 2010 9:58 pm

    thanks pikko – and thanks for reminding me to add it to Bento Central!

  3. March 24, 2010 11:10 pm

    I didn’t notice the wing til you mentioned it!!! I think it’s really cute! And what on earth are red grapes?! Are these from UK? I thought they were cherry tomatoes! I think you do great, u are so busy and multi-tasking! I am useless at multi-tasking – I have to do 1 thing at a time, using a timer. I got this idea from flylady.net When the timer is going I have to be quick and keep focussed and not get sidetracked. Sometimes I need to set a timer going, just to find my timer though LOL

  4. March 25, 2010 6:28 am

    Awww, super cute chick!!! Lovely Easter bento!

  5. March 25, 2010 8:17 am

    I don’t understand the wing part..

  6. March 25, 2010 1:48 pm

    Thanks Asfora, Susan – I suppose with bentos I quite like having the leisure of time to let me create…although, yesterday I was really in a rush! And yes, grapes were purchased in ASDA – I find that organic grapes tend to be slightly bigger and resemble cherry tomatoes.

    drey: Can you see the rounded tips facing upwards? it’s supposed to be sideways….as the wing tip….do you see it? Look at the left wing…

  7. March 26, 2010 1:35 pm

    Really cute chick ^-^ You are right, the wing is up side down. But hey, does look with this little mistake 😉

  8. March 29, 2010 12:47 pm

    thanks Lil’chan – yeah, the wing was funny; I did’nt notice it until I’ve actually blogged about it!

  9. July 22, 2010 7:13 pm

    Too bad things are like they are right now. I want things to change this November. They will if we do what we need to do.

Leave a Reply

