Skip to content

Bento 29 – Onigiris & veggie friendly soy meat mapo tofu

March 30, 2010

It seems that last week’s spate of cutesy easter themed bentos had tired me out! Maybe it’s the weather – after a week’s worth of lovely spring sunshine, it is back to near freezing temps again, and I’ve had miso soup for lunch three days in a row now. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love miso soup, but Ugh. Obviously getting sick of it, I actually topped up my soup with some criss-cut fries today. The shame.

I was also dealing with a bunch of work-related stress…..BUT thank god, I think that’s the end of it! With any luck it will now be all over, and I won’t be travelling the country for work anymore – glamourous it definately ISN’T. I like having that little bit of time over lunch to just capture my

Today’s bento features soy meat, which looks like pet food really. It came in a large bag and looks exactly like cat biscuits…I cooked it for 10 mins in boiling salted water, and then squeezed the surplus water out of it. I stirfry it in mapo tofu mix, trying to turn it into a dryer veggie version of mapo tofu. Not too sure if it tastes nice cold – will post the recipe up if it does! In case it didn’t, I’ve packed it in a silicon cup so I can nuke it by itself. And oh, this makes this bento VEGGIE FRIENDLY”

.

bento29

Top layer: Two mini onigiris flavoured with tumeric
Bottom layer: asparagus with rolled ham (stole this idea from pikko), brocolli, organic grapes (spot the one lone cherry tomato!), snap peas and vegan mapo-tofu in a cup

I’ve also remembered to pack my matching cutlery from the Happy Noodle set at last! woo! I’m still trying to rack ideas up for bunny bentos, but not doing very well with it….I refuse to see easter in without a bunny bento! Wonder if a bunny chocolate would count? This whole bento took less than 20 mins in total with my stash of frozen rice…fine, it’s not even halfway cute, but at least I won’t be submitting to criss-cross fries!

I also must really start hunting for a deeper bento box – had real difficulties squeezing in the tall asparagus. It was really hard to fit in the onigiris – I could only fit in two, and really shallow ones. Oh well, I’m sure I can find another box in my cupboards that will fit the tall asparagus….

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 10:10 pm

    Pretty bento! Love the color of the tumeric onigiri. πŸ˜€

  2. March 30, 2010 11:01 pm

    I love the simple colors of this bento. The onigiri looks tasty. Hope the soy meat mapo tofu works out. Can’t wait to hear.

    • January 3, 2015 3:09 pm

      This has made my day. I wish all pogtinss were this good.

  3. March 30, 2010 11:16 pm

    Vegan ftw and yay for bento-stash rice. LOL. This looks awesome. Nom.

  4. March 31, 2010 5:15 am

    Beautiful bento and nice picture! Happy to enjoy it πŸ™‚

  5. March 31, 2010 9:13 am

    Thank you all for your kind words :). Can’t wait till lunch time now to crack this open, going to try it out cold before nuking it to see which is nicer!

Leave a Reply

