Skip to content

Bento 30: Orzo ponzu salad with octodogs

March 31, 2010

bento30b

I’m still a bento noob, really,and am still exploring simple bento making techniques. I have tried out usagi ringo earlier, and today I thought I would test out octodogs. Actually, what I really wanted to make were SPAM musubis, which I had made before. However, I seemed to have lost my can of SPAM..ARGGH! So no SPAM for me….but the craving for processed meat prevails, so out came the dogs! These ones are chilli dogs, but the hint of spice was so light it might as well had been without.

bento30a

Today’s bento also featured orzo ponzu salad; pasta shaped like rice. I used to love having orzo mixed in with rice as a pilaf whenever I ‘dine’ at Hometown Buffet and its clones – love it. It was very bizzare that it took me 4 years living in the UK before managing to find orzo for sale…I was starting to think that it was an American pasta! I cooked the orzo as you would with normal pasta, and mixed in finely diced celery & cucumber (would have added sweet corn & red peppers if I had any). I dressed it in a mixture of ponzu, sugar and mustard, with a twist of salt & pepper. Simple but refreshing flavours.

.

bento30c

Bottom layer: Tamagoyaki nori, orzo ponzu salad with cucumber & carrot flowers
Top layer: Octodogs (with orzo as eyes!), sugar snap peas, organic grapes.

.

PS: by the way, the soy meat from yesterday tasted ok (meaty texture but not taste) ; but much better heated up!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2010 6:36 pm

    Super cute octo dogs and such a beautiful bento! Love the tamagoyaki and the orzo salad. πŸ™‚

  2. April 5, 2010 12:59 pm

    Pretty cucumber and carrot flowers! Love the color combination there … very bright!

  3. April 6, 2010 4:09 pm

    I like the cucumber and carrot flowers. Great idea! ^_^

  4. April 6, 2010 7:10 pm

    Thanks Susan, Lia & Melanie!

    Yes, I do find that adding the flowers do lighten up a potentially blah bento….the husband says that a carrot is a carrot is a carrot, but I much prefer have carrot slices shaped like flowers!!

Leave a Reply

