Skip to content

Bento 31: Pseudo-don

April 6, 2010

One of my favourite dishes to order in a Japanese restaurant when I’m wanting something warming is a good katsudon or oyakodon. I also love gyudon…heck, I love all sort of dons ๐Ÿ™‚ . I especially love my katsu-don to be cooked in a dashi-flavoured egg omelet. Yumyums.

.

Again, like most of my Japanese-inspired bentos, this came from my inability to find a half-decent Japanese restaurant where I live. Grr. I am lucky enough to have access to a microwave during lunch time, and this would be one of the times where I take full advantage of this. First I gently sautee some onions. I use slices of beef leftover from my easter roast, so it’s already cooked. I cracked the eggs and mixed it up with some dashi, soy sauce, mirin and sugar for that yummy umami flavour. I made an omelet with it, and added the sliced beef to it. When it’s nearly cooked, I popped in a handful of frozen peas for color…and just spoon it over warm rice with soy sauce! Because I am making this for me, I also sprinkled some nanami togarashi and topped with heart-shaped nori punchout. Yummz.

bento31

.

I rounded this up with some strawberries & grapes resting on mixed salad leaves on the top layer of my hamburger bento box. Ahh. As the rice was already cooked and the beef was a leftover, this only took me about 8 minutes to make. I couldve’ really made more of an effort, but this was the first day back to work from the long Easter weekend – so no! Well, like I always say, it’s better making a simple bento rather than none at all and settling for fries !

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2010 7:30 pm

    Good for you! I love donburi too ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. April 6, 2010 8:30 pm

    Lovely arrangement! I love donburi and anything really with eggs! ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. April 7, 2010 4:07 am

    Same here … love donburi too! Great foods to put in the bento. I love to see the sprinkle on the top … looks like a professional chef ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. April 7, 2010 7:54 pm

    thanks sheri, susan & lia! Glad I’m not the only one that’s crazy over a simple donburi – if pushed I think I’ll pick gyudon!

    lia: professional?? OMG have you SEEN your food?? Mine’s a poor relation ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. November 14, 2010 12:08 pm

    I posted a delicious recipe for gyudon:
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/11/13/gyudon-beef-bowl/
    Give it a try sometime!

Leave a Reply

