Skip to content

Bento 32: purple kale, pesto pasta & octodogs

April 7, 2010

I had to use up my sausages from my first go at octodogs, so I kinda built my bento today around that. I had also run out of fruits (only a few measly strawberries left!) and brocolli (oh, what a fabulous bento filler) so had to scrummage my fridge in search for other veggies to fill my bento up.

I’ve only had kale once in my life – and it was stringy,tough and utterly unpleasant. I saw a bag of beautiful purple kale at the veggie section a few days ago, and I had to get it – I just HAD to. I had been thinking of beautiful wilted purple leaves all day, coming up with different ideas of incorporating it into my bento. Imagine my suprise when I blanched it and got the below:

bento32b

It’s turned from a dark pretty aubergine color to dark green! Oh……I see. Oh well. I chopped it into pieces and then blanched it until tender (not very delicate) and then mixed in with some yakitori sauce. Yes, I know, yakitori sauce?!?! I wanted a touch of sweet in the kale, and suprisingly, works very well. I wasn’t sure what it would taste like cold, so popped it into a silicon cup so I can microwave it individually if needed

On the not-so-good end, I had my first tamagoyaki accident today. Och. I was trying to make cheese tamagoyaki, but ended up just getting it all stuck to my poor pan. Sigh. I mixed it all up anyway, and therefore today my tamagoyaki is in the form of a silicon cup. Lets pretend that I was planning that all along anyway. Maybe I should stick with the tamagoyaki nori instead of substituting it with cheese

bento32c

Bottom end: Pesto pasta salad with dry-flaked tuna and peas, two octodogs and carrot flowers.
Top end: A giant strawberry, bits of asparagus, an onion bhaji, screwed-up tamagoyaki & purple kale (turned dark green)

.

I made the hubs a bento for tomorrow as well with similar inggredients, but he gets more pasta and octodogs and no silicon cups, since he hates heated up lunch. Hmph….he don’t know what he’s missing!

bento32a

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 8:16 pm

    Bright and healthy! One thing I love to do with kale is crisp it in the oven. Toss dry leaves with a little olive oil and bake til just before burning. Kale chips!

  2. April 7, 2010 9:01 pm

    oooo, VERY interesting – will try that out tomorrow with the rest of my kale – will report back!

  3. dreymer permalink
    April 8, 2010 4:13 pm

    Cute la the octo-dog.. That’s something I know I can do!

Leave a Reply

