Skip to content

Bento 35 : What’s that supposed to be?

April 21, 2010

The Orzo-tto (hehe) that I made yesterday turned up to serve more than one meal, I had some left even after using them in yesterdays’ bento. So it makes another reappearance in today’s bento…and because this was cooked yesterday, it took about 15mins to assemble..

.

I was trying to do more cheese-cutting again today, but as you could probably guess from my efforts below, it went horribly wrong. I was trying to do some cutie frogs using my bear onigiri maker…sorta like what bentozen produced beautifully with cucumber. It looked so cute! However, I decided to do that without a reference picture, and halfway thorugh I had to stop and think; does frogs have noses? Heehee. I also thought I was being clever by swapping the green of the frog skin for peas as the eyes……as a result, the frogs came out looking slightly like some alien weirdo creature. Definately does not pass the test for a frog…or any creature really. I should’ve really redo the whole thing…but as usual, I can’t be bothered! That lazy attitute kinda explains the speediness of this bento 🙂

.

bento35
Top layer: Mushroom orzo mock risotto, cheese cutouts
Bottom layer: Strawberries, two types of cherry tomatoes, pork pie all on a bed of salad leaves

.

I’m not sure if pork pies are found anywhere else in the world? If you don’t know what pork pies are (I didn’t, until I moved to the UK four years ago), it is cold chopped cured pork, sealed in jelly and baked in shortcrust pastry. Traditionally eaten cold, the English slap on brown sauce (apparently also known as HP fruity sauce) on it, and pickles sometimes. It is the ultimate snack food for the English, really, eaten at any time of the day. The mini ones are perfect for bentos!!

.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2010 6:03 pm

    i think they are very recognizable as frogs, and super cute! good job! i couldn’t remember what kind of noses they had either (and there weren’t room on my tiny cucumber faces for noses anyway), but i think 2 sesame seed nostrils would work next time either of us is feeling froggie…

    • April 21, 2010 7:03 pm

      two holes for nostrils would make sense – why did I put one SOLE black sesame seed for a nose? sigh.

      I’m going to copy your cucumber styled froggies next time..white albino frogs are just not quite there!

  2. April 21, 2010 9:45 pm

    Looks like Sid from Ice Age! Ah I remember Pork pies. You double up with people to eat them – there is always someone who only likes the pastry and always someone who only likes the meat. AND NO-ONE likes the Jelly!!!

  3. April 22, 2010 7:53 am

    Very cute!!! I think they totally look like froggies! 😀

  4. April 22, 2010 6:44 pm

    You guys are too kind…thanks 🙂

    Asfora: I know, what’s up with the jelly?? No point whatsoever!

Leave a Reply

