Skip to content

Bento 38 – Curry chicken & my 1st attempt at checkered apple

April 29, 2010

Okay this might potentially be my last bento for the next week – I’m off to NYC on Saturday and am not sure if I’m going to be having a bento tomorrow due to accident with my gyozas earlier this evening – I have grand plans of turning it into a fritatta thingymajig but we will see!

I’m all out for fresh fruits and vegetables and have no plans to restock as I’m away all next week, so this weeks’ bento have been fairly green-less. Below I’m using up the last of my fresh vegs. Oh, actually, I did stop by to pick up a lone apple to feature in the bento below. I love the look of chequered apples that I’ve seen in many bentos, and below was my efforts of my first try. Looks pretty presentable – if I can do it, anyone can! I think it’s way easier than cutting out usagi ringo (apple bunnies), and quite striking. It only took me about 5 mins to cut out the squares, reasonable time I think for adding a splash of color in the bento.

.

bento38</a

Today's bento features leftover curry chicken made from a secret curry paste that my mom made herself – always very spicy, aromatic and yummy! I made some indian rice pilaf to go with it, adding extra tumeric for a more striking yellow color. On the other side is the remnants of my veggie crisper , peapods, tomatoes, and carrot sticks. I squeezed in the apple in a silicon cup so I can remove it easily when I stick the whole lot in the microwave. Mm mm good.

In times past, I would fill the bigger compartment with rice and the smaller compartment with curry. This bento just shows how I've changed since adopting bento making – my portions are smaller and I am making a conscious effort to get more fruit and veg in my diet 🙂

PS: Did you notice my lame attempts to make a smiley face on the rice? Hee hee.

.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2010 10:32 pm

    Very cute!!! Great job on the apple!!!

  2. April 29, 2010 10:42 pm

    thanks susan!!

  3. April 29, 2010 10:47 pm

    Curry and pea rice look yummy!

  4. April 30, 2010 7:27 am

    Well done on the Chequered apple! Have a good trip! :o)

  5. April 30, 2010 11:40 am

    thanks Asfora & Sheri!

Leave a Reply

