Skip to content

Bento 39 – gyoza omelet

April 30, 2010

This was the one bento that nearly didn’t make it. I was planning a bento of gyozas with soba noodles, but my gyoza had to go to pot (literally) and got stuck to the pot when I was shallow boiling it. I think I must’ve overboiled it. I moaned on twitter that I will probably have no bento today as my gyozas are ruined and the only thing that I have on hand are a coupla eggs as I am leaving for New York tomorrow and have no intention of restocking my fridge. hypothermya came to my rescue by suggesting a fritatta. Ooo. Genius. Thinking out of the box again!

.

bento39b

So this morning, I beat two eggs and added some dashi stock and gyoza dipping sauce to flavour and dillute the egg mixture. I then poured it all into a heated and greased large frying pan, not quite covering it all. I placed the ruined gyozas on top and pressed on it to kinda ‘glue’ the gyozas to the egg mixture. What I could rescue from the gyoza batch, I panfried them on the other end as you can see above.

.

bento39

I had some leftover rice pilaf from yesterday, and packed that as well. Three leftover red tomatoes add color to this leftover bento, and I quickly made some cucumber flowers with my 2inch of leftover cucumber. And a quick sprinkle of nanami togarashi to add spice. Done!

I made this only in the morning, and all in all, took me 10 minutes to beat and cook. I know, I’m missing a huge chunk of green, but this is one of the very rare bento that I make in the morning – I usually make it the night before so I can take my time. So another boring brown bagged lunch thwarted, and leftovers used!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2010 5:06 pm

    Mm! Actually looks very good, esp with togarashi. You’ll enjoy this creative bento πŸ™‚

    • April 30, 2010 8:48 pm

      Thanks sheri – togarashi makes everything looks and taste better!

  2. hypothermya permalink
    April 30, 2010 6:30 pm

    Wow, that looks good! I never would have known it was a rescue bento. πŸ˜€ Also, I love the cucumber flowers w/ the sesame seeds. They look so pretty.

    • April 30, 2010 8:50 pm

      thanks hypothermya….and for your gyoza omelet suggestion!!

      I’ve seen other bloggers arrange in sesame seeds in an orderly fashion…plan to do that next when I get tweezers and more time!

  3. May 3, 2010 11:11 pm

    Well done for thwarting another brown bag lunch!

  4. May 13, 2010 10:53 am

    Very interesting bento, love it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

