Skip to content

Bento 40: Up, up & away!

May 16, 2010

Pheww!

It’s been a mighty long time since I posted here…two weeks and counting to be precise. I got back from NYC (faaab time!) last Sunday, but this week at work have been maniac as it’s my last week at work as well, equating in a number of lunches with colleagues. That plus the huge amount of sleep that I have been piling on due to missing a whole night’s of sleep during my transatlantic flight on Sunday had minimized my bento-making adventures. Next week (tomorrow!) I am starting a new job, and after an initial few days would probably be bentoing as usual again.

However, I did make one last bento before I left for the States. I do quite a lot of long-distance flights, and this usually means that I am subjected to economy-class gloop that they serve out without second though. I hate the food, but I always end up finishing it anyway as I am always concerned that I get hungry before the next meal meal is served. That means hard, tasteless rolls and reheated overcooked chicken with limp vegetables. Ugh.

So this time around I decided I was going to bring lunch! We left the UK at 11am, which meant I had to leave my house around 7-ish in the morning. Usually, by the time they serve the first meal at around 1ish, I would be absolutely starving anyway that anything would had tasted nice. Well, I’m not falling for that trick again! This time I would dictate when I eat, what I eat and how much. With a little pre-planning the night before, it is surprising how well you can eat in-flight without forking out for first class fares.

.

bento40a

The husband’s bento contains: Onigiris with noritama furikake, octodogs, checkered apple, and in the plastic wrap, miso egg. I replaced the noritama furikake with hijiki and chirimenjako furikake for my bento. All packed in disposable recycled takeaway boxes.

It was nothing spectacular, a normal bento, really. However, compare that with this gloop that I got for lunch abroad Continental:

.

bento40b

Hmm. Iceberg salad (with ONE measly olive) , chicken and rice that looks like it’s all been microwaved with some salt and ketchup and a cold stale roll. I picked at the chicken, but did not finish anything else – I knew I had my bento ready when I do actually get hungry! And when they came around with stale sandwiches an hour before we landed in Newark, I did not even eat it, choosing instead to nibble on my miso egg.

I think this bento went down really well – the husband finished his even before we boarded. Will most definitely make one again for our next transatlantic flight, proves that bento lunches are not only for work or school!

.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2010 5:34 pm

    I have to agree that bento is soooo much better than airplane food anyday! 😀 Great bentos and yummy onigiri! 🙂

  2. May 16, 2010 6:07 pm

    much thanks susan! It was very simple (I had cleared my fridge by then) but still miles better than reheated overcooked food.

  3. May 16, 2010 6:08 pm

    That was a great meal. I’m taking notes for a time when I take a transatlantic flight. Hopefully soon. Glad you have another job to go to, it’s not fun being unemployed. Good luck on your first day at the new job.

    • May 16, 2010 6:34 pm

      Thanks so much Marisa! Flying is no fun, but the destination usually makes it well worthwhile!

      Unemployment in the UK had just ticked up again, just glad that I’m not part of it :(. Will need all the luck in my new job, thanks!

  4. hypothermya permalink
    May 17, 2010 1:36 am

    One olive? Seriously?! …wow. They’ve discovered whole new levels of cheap….

    The onigiris in your bentos look so tasty!

    • May 17, 2010 8:42 pm

      I know right, if you squint, you can see the measly olive on the bottom left of the salad. Ugh.

  5. May 17, 2010 6:11 am

    Yummy onigiri! I have to agree with Susan … it’s hard to find a nice airplane food. We eat it in the end because no other choice 🙂

    • May 17, 2010 8:43 pm

      Thanks Lia! Sometimes I don’t understand how can airline food be soooo BAD – they should offer their passengers a bento option instead!

Trackbacks

  1. Bento 68: Takeaway Train bento « not another brown bag lunch…

Leave a Reply

