Skip to content

Bento 41: Hinomaru bento with kimchi gyozas

May 17, 2010

Okay, I admit, I’ve not taken the next step of making my own gyozas yet, but it’s most definitely on my list. However, I still had a bag of frozen kimchi gyozas that are really yummy. Something simple was on the menu today as I just came back from my first day at my new job – which is a very bento-friendly place as it’s equipped with microwaves and fridges. Yay! They also do free fruits – which is great. I won’t feel guilty anymore when my bentos do not contain any fruits – like today’s.

Keeping it simple, I made the classic hinomaru bento, pure white rice with an umeboshi in the middle. I had been unable to source umeboshi in the UK, but my trip to Mitsuwa in New Jersey changed that. Yay! I hand-carried my ume and a packed of takuwan back to the UK with me – how desperate is that? So here is it’s first appearance…yummm.

.

bento41b

1 cup rice with a medium-sized ume, small gyozas (which I propped on a bed of edamame to raise its height), asparagus spears, zucchini & carrot flowers with sesame seed details. Speaking of flowers, this qualifies for Debra’s B.O.M.B!! If you had not seen it, do have a look, Debra runs the best contests!

.

My pictures are looking very badly lit today – not too sure why? Need to readjust my settings and light source. And oh, by the way, if you have not noticed, I am using my brand new box! Yay! I love it – it comes with a movable divider and a second layer for the cutleries.

bento41

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2010 9:18 pm

    Looks yummy! πŸ˜€

    • May 17, 2010 9:21 pm

      thanks so much pikko – I still have a long way to go πŸ™‚

  2. May 17, 2010 9:42 pm

    Love gyoza! And your cute box too! But I already told you πŸ˜‰

    • May 17, 2010 10:08 pm

      Try Borders – I know Susan got two of my other Paperchase bento boxes from Borders! They would probably sell this design there as well!

      Yay for world wide bento box domination!

  3. May 17, 2010 9:47 pm

    Cute box! Love your carrot flowers, I need to try that. You should try making your own gyozas, they freeze well!

    • May 17, 2010 10:09 pm

      Thanks so much Lyndsey – I love carrot flowers – so easy to make! Purple carrot makes it looks soooo much better though.

      Yes, I really need to make my own, spending too much on pre-packed gyozas

  4. May 18, 2010 7:45 am

    I wouldn’t have the heart to eat that poor umeboshi after hand-carrying it all that way – I’d become far too emotionally attached LOL! What do they taste like btw? I have never tried it? Great bento box, love the idea of the movable divider! πŸ˜€

    • May 18, 2010 8:33 pm

      Thanks Asfora. Some say that Ume are an acquired taste, but I love the soury plummy taste.

  5. Bentobird/Jenn permalink
    May 18, 2010 11:20 am

    Cool and stylishly simple bento…gyoza are a treat!

    • May 18, 2010 8:32 pm

      Thanks Jenn – I love gyozas…can have them all the time!

  6. May 20, 2010 8:03 pm

    Adorable food presentation!
    I admit that all this culinary Asian creativeness is very foreign to me.
    I enjoy seeing what you come up with.
    I’m looking forward to your next posts.
    Flavourful wishes, Claudia

  7. May 23, 2010 7:01 pm

    thanks so much claudia πŸ™‚ – the end product is really worth spending all that time on πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

