Skip to content

Bento 42: Thai-styled shrimp & teri sweet potato

May 18, 2010

I keep forgetting to use my flower noodles in my bento – I bought this months ago and had only used them in once. I guess you can make a whole portion of this and just eat it like normal noodles, but I think they make such good accents. So today I remembered (at last) to boil some to use and placed it over my rice complete with black sesame accents. Unfortunately, most of the petals ended up all curled in (I probably overboiled it) before I snapped a picture. So I had to make do and place leftover sweet potato flower cut outs over it. You can see the one teeny bit that’s atop the sweet potato slice though….

.

bento42

Pilau rice with boiled sweet potato flowers (covering up my curled-up flower pasta)

Sweet potato flowers cooked in teri sauce (you can just about see the flower noodle on top) , blanched broccoli & asparagus, cherry tomatoes and thai-styled string beans & shrimp – basically sauteed shrimp and string beans in a tablespoon of tomyum paste.

.

I was thinking about coloring the flower noodles…maybe cooking it in colored water? Would be fab if it turns out in pretty pastel colors :). Will report back how it works out – this time I need to make sure I don’t overboil it. And oh, the flower theme means it qualifies for Debra’s competition – yay!

.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2010 9:59 pm

    Wow I’m intregued by the flower noodles. I’ll be looking forward to seeing if you can color them. By the way everything looks so tasty. I would be diving right in except for the shrimp (allergic) but everything else, fab.

    • May 19, 2010 12:48 pm

      Thanks so much Marisa..Will report back on flower noodle coloring…by the way, the quick stirfry works with non-allergic ingg. like tofu & chicken too…yumm..

  2. May 18, 2010 10:17 pm

    I love the flower pasta! This bento is gorgeous! I want to eat it too :d

    • May 19, 2010 12:47 pm

      Thanks Lyndsey – I see so much potential in the flower pasta, just need to get working on it!

  3. May 19, 2010 2:48 am

    Flower noodles so interesting! And this bento is so pretty, so much details for the sweet potato flower πŸ™‚

    • May 19, 2010 12:46 pm

      hi lia – thanks so much – I got the inspiration from the lovely flower basket that you made a few days ago! So pretty – let’s home I can copy that with flower noodles!

Trackbacks

  1. Bento 45: fried rice with smiley turkey balls « not another brown bag lunch…

Leave a Reply

