Skip to content

Bento 43: Bunny Maki & Caprese salad

May 23, 2010

bento43d

.

I had wanted to make Susan’s bunny maki ever since she posted the guide. Its cuteness in a roll, without much effort, and processed meat is really my weakness…I can eat them all the time :).

.

My main mistake was that my SPAM slices were too big – I just literally halved the slices, but I think it might had looked better with a 1/4 slices – my bunny ears looked slightly large and it caused some of the ears to go horizontal. It was still very cute, and most definitely better looking than any maki that I had ever made before.

.

This bento was also inspired by pikko’s domo bento which contained salad caprese – I used fresh basil instead. I actually made it for dinner for Saturday, but it was so good I made it again for tomorrow’s bento. Mmm..I do love the combination of fresh basil, mozzarella & tomatoes.

Oh, this bento also features my first use of takuan, which I manage to sneak through immigration from Mitsuwa! Hand-carried along with my ume all the way from New Jersey – we did get stopped at luggage scan and had to explain that they were pickles…heehee. The annoying part is that my local chinese supermarket had now started stocking takuan – and I only realised it today. Grr…..

.

bento43b

Bunny maki slices, flower takuan with sesame details, insalata caprese with flower mozzarella slices.

.

If you’re inspired to try out the bunny maki; Susan had provided very detailed instructions – give it a go!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2010 7:20 pm

    Woot! That looks awesome!!! Beautiful arrangement and love the caprese salad too. What a gorgeous bento! πŸ˜€

  2. May 24, 2010 11:55 am

    Very nice bento! You did it in your own style. So much color in the salad too πŸ™‚

  3. May 24, 2010 7:32 pm

    thanks Lia & Susan…I only learn from the best!!

Trackbacks

  1. Bento 45: fried rice with smiley turkey balls « not another brown bag lunch…
  2. Bento 80: The Final Caprese « not another brown bag lunch…

Leave a Reply

