Skip to content

Bento 45: fried rice with smiley turkey balls

May 25, 2010

Yesterday I made my bento first and then had the leftovers as dinner. Today I pictured my dinner in my head, and then made it, ate it, and stuffed the remainder in my bento! In many ways I like it when bacon is away from home; I don’t have to think whether he would eat my random pairings of food – he’s not too keen on weirdness :).

.

So it was another day of random pairings of food for me..I started off needing to use up my leftover rice from yesterday and hot dog from the bunny maki; that turned got turned into fried rice with an egg, frozen sweet corn and edamame. Next came my string beans, which really needed using up as well. I whipped up another portion of the thai-styled shrimp with the remainder of my frozen stash of shrimp. I do love using tom yum paste; when I lived in Malaysia, I had tom yum noodles for lunch about 3 times a week ;).

.

A further rummage in the freezer after finding the frozen shrimp unearthed some mini turkey kiev balls and veggie fingers. Whatever possessed me to purchase these in the first place? I popped them all in the oven before starting to prepare the fried rice and thai-styled beans…ready in 20 minutes! I didn’t take a picture of my dinner though, really should have – it didn’t look as nice as the bento though!

.

bento45

I added carrot and bell pepper flowers to complete the color wheel. I had previously encountered problems with cutting out flowers from bell peppers as they are all wonky and wouldn’t lay down flat – but I had an epiphany today, and sliced the peppers first to ensure that I get two flat surfaces before cutting out the flowers… result! The round shapes were too cute to resist putting SOMETHING on them. Using a straw, I cut out rounds from cheeses to turn into eyes, with a black sesame in each cheese rounds. I then used a large straw (bubble/boba tea straw) to make the snout for one of the turkey balls…and turned scraps of the pepper into smiley mouths. It didn’t turn out as bright as I would like, you can barely see the mouths….oh well. I did use up more of my black sesame seeds – what else can I use them in next???

A closer look at the details

bento45b

The good thing about making two meals in one is that with everything already cooked and cooled down (I ate my dinner before starting prep on bento), even with no prior plan on how to pack it for lunch, this took me in total 20 mins to think, cut, arrange and assemble. I like speed bentos!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2010 8:38 pm

    Too cute! I love the arrangement!

  2. May 25, 2010 10:09 pm

    aww thanks so much Katie ๐Ÿ™‚ And welcome!

  3. May 25, 2010 11:32 pm

    Those smileys are super cute!

  4. May 26, 2010 12:50 am

    Aw the turkey balls are such cuties! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • May 26, 2010 6:40 am

      Thanks susan, i do try very hard to be cute! >.<

  5. May 26, 2010 3:04 pm

    Oh my! This is so cute and yummy at the same time!

  6. June 7, 2010 10:47 am

    I’ll admit that making Bento are not my specialty…they are however yours…and you do a fantastic job at it.
    I always enjoy visiting you and appreciating your creativity!
    Flavourful wishes, Claudia

Leave a Reply

