Skip to content

Bento 47: Onigiri & fruits

July 14, 2010

I wanted to do something simple for my first comeback bento. My fridge is only half-stocked at the moment with food that I purchased immediately after getting off a 14-hour flight, and in my groggy-eyed condition coupled with intense hunger. It didn’t matter at the end, as I was too tired to eat after heating up the chilled pizza & garlic bread that I picked up for lunch. Leftovers were dumped in a container for next day’s lunch at work – am just so glad that there wasn’t a need for taxing brainpower on my first day back.

.

I used one of my new boxes, the single onigiri carriers. I made one large onigiri mixed in with salmon furikake on top of a bed of little gem lettuce, topped with a simple bird cutout from cheese. The other triangle is filled with sliced nectarine, peapods, baby corn, a blueberry in a golden raspberry and cherries from my very own cherry tree.

bento47

.

I didn’t even think about including any protein in this bento, which shows how shoddy had I become in my time away from bento making. I really must buck up again! At least it’s speedy – taking only 5-10 mins (including picking cherries from the tree), this is going in my bag of speed-bentos. I popped in some miso soup as well for lunch as the weather feels just so COLD to me right now after a spell in tropical weather!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2010 1:25 am

    Lovely bento! Great way use the onigiri boxes! 🙂

  2. July 15, 2010 8:37 am

    Wow that’s speed lightning! How did u make the onigiri in such a short time??

    • July 15, 2010 8:03 pm

      Hi Xelia, I use a triangle plastic onigiri mould from Daiso, but I like the cling film/Saran wrap method is great as well for hand shaping. Just pop rice in the middle of a square of cling film, wrap it up, shape it, and remove wrap. Voila!

      Not to mention the cling film method makes your onigiri smooth as well, which is always a plus!

  3. July 15, 2010 10:36 am

    Very nice speedy bento in those onigiri boxes! I want to grab those cherries now 🙂

Leave a Reply

