Skip to content

Bento 48: Cherries & bunny onigiri

July 15, 2010

I’ve not been cooking dinners properly, and with a sadly depleted bento stash, I have been running super low on protein. I made curry chicken, and leftovers were made into the next day’s dinner too. Need to buck up soon and make some freezer-friendly stuff. In the meantime, I’m still using up the remainder of my frozen rice – thank god for that!

Today’s lunch (actually I ended up eating it for breakfast as I was STARVING and had a lunch date) consisted of the remainder of my frozen kimchi gyozas and frozen rice. I mixed in some ume furikake into my rice and used one of my new toys, a bunny onigiri press. Obviously I did not think this through, my nori face details (from my brand-new face punch!) was not really visible through the speckled purple ume furikake. Hmm. I stuck one of my new picks on it, giving my bunny a green bow. It rests on a bed of lettuce, with slices of nectarines holding it in place.

.

bento48

.

Behind the onigiri are some of the gyozas, which I padded out at the end with some peas, baby sweetcorn, nectarine slices and blueberry in a golden raspberry. On the second layer of this yellow lube sheep box (another new find!!) are more of my homegrown cherries and 1/2 a nectarine with another new find (it’s all coming out now!!) a leaf pick. I love it!!!

I really need to start stocking up on my bento stash again – need to come up with ideas of what to do. Suggestions are welcomed!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

