Skip to content

Bento 49: Chicken teriyaki

July 16, 2010

I’ve always know the theory of making teriyaki sauce from scratch, but how strange that I’ve not made it before. I’ve made teri sauce to soak my SPAM in for spam musubis, but not teriyaki chicken. How odd! I had used bottled sauces before, but they’re overpriced and frankly not all that nice.

I took some chicken out for dinner yesterday, and wanted something different for dinner. Yep, if you live where I live, teri chic IS special as you can’t find it ! I can probably count with one hand how many places in Leeds I can find teri chic. It’s been a while since I had teri chic anyway, so this was abit of a treat. I added a can of pineapple in mine as well, and some black sesame seeds.

bento49

.

Teri chic is, of course, best served with plain sticky rice to soak up all the gooey sticky teri sauce. I sprinkled some black sesame seed on top of my rice, fashioned a baran from snap peas, and popped in more of my homegrown cherries in. And voila, a speedy bento put together in 5 minutes! Of course this does not include the time I took to cook the chicken, but since this was a leftover bento, I did not consider cooking time as part of bento-putting-together-time :).

.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2010 3:49 am

    Cute little MRB!

    • July 18, 2010 7:02 pm

      thanks debra – I need to get better at using the MRB though! Think out of the box – think circle!!!

Leave a Reply

