Skip to content

Cherries!

July 27, 2010

For the past two weeks this blog have been chock a block full of cherries from my tree, which have been super productive this season. I’ve squirted cherry juices over many tops, leaving a bright deep red stains all over my summer wardrobe. This made me wonder whether cherry juice would work just as well as a natural colouring for rice. Hmm.

.

I wasn’t going to make a bento as it was soup for lunch; however, the idea of cherry-colored rice kept disturbing my train of thoughts, so I headed back to the kitchen to make a lone tuna onigiri as a ‘snack’ for breakfast.

Using my frozen stash rice, I half squirted and half squeezed two cherries into the rice. With a drop of sushi-su, the color immediately begin to take, soaking the pristine white rice a dark blood red. I mixed it all around, but I think I could’ve done with another cherry to get a deeper color. However, the second cherry had managed to squirt across my pristine white top (serves me right for not putting on an apron), and I was in a fairly foul mood – ANOTHER top ruined!

I kept this fairly simple, with three flowers cut from red peppers, a lone cherry and a bed of torn-up lettuce. Simple, but pretty :). The rice tastes very very faintly like cherries, which is very intruiging in a good way – I love it. It just perfumes the rice slightly, and as much as I love beetroot as a coloring agent, this is mileeeeees better!

bento53

.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2010 9:53 pm

    This is pretty! Wish I could grow a my own cherry but not in my country’s climate. 😦 by the way how do you freeze your rice? Have not made onigiri coz my morning time are limited and can’t cook rice just for one in a rice cooker.

    • July 28, 2010 7:38 am

      Hi Xelia

      I would try red dragon fruit as an all natural food stain – have a feeling it might just work!

      I cook rice in a large batch, and then whilst it is still hot/warm, portion it out into squares of cling film /saran wrap. Wrap it up tightly, and pop it directly into the freezer WHILE IT IS STILL HOT. Microwave directly from frozen, you can even make it directly into onigiris if you wish and then just pop it directly into the microwave. The fact that you freeze it from warm helps retain the moisture and stickiness that the rice requires instead of drying out.

      Just make sure that your cling film is microwaveable and will not melt in the microwave – works a dream!

  2. July 29, 2010 7:03 am

    Very pretty, and I love the flowers too. 🙂

  3. July 30, 2010 1:35 am

    This looks lovely! I cook my roast beef with Coke too (small bottle plus onion soup mix).

    Found you from Sheri’s tweets, I believe, love finding new bento people! :o)

Trackbacks

  1. Bento 59: Smiley Sausage kimbap « not another brown bag lunch…
  2. Bento 65: Ochazuke « not another brown bag lunch…

Leave a Reply

