Skip to content

Bento 53: Coke Chicken pseudo-bento

July 29, 2010

I’ve been laid up in bed for two days now with a horrendous throat infection. It feels like my throat is swollen, but not like a normal sore throat. Ugh. So I wasn’t going to make myself a bento seeing that I’m home, but I thought I would serve it up in a bento box anyway – heh. Overly simple even for me, I tried stencilling a bunny on it with sakura denbu, but it seemed to have come out rather wooly and weird. I’m just going to blame it all on my sickness – whilst I can. Heehee.

.

bento53b

.

I’ve kept it simple with a chicken breast of Coke Chicken, some rice and a side of peas. Whaaat? Coke Chicken?? Yups! I made it the first time for dinner, and purposesly used three chicken breasts so I could keep one for lunch. It’s most definately one of the recipes that I’ve always wanted to tried but never seem to get to. I’ve modified this slightly as I only had diet coke instead of regular coke, but seriously, I don’t miss it at all! I can see this making an excellent bento freezer stash as well, so might just make this in bulk next time. I kept it in its full breast, but obviously cubes/strips would suit bentos better – I didn’t want to overcook it.

To make Coke chicken, you need:

3 chicken breasts (one per serving, divide & multiply as needed)
1 can diet Coke (use about 1/2 – 1/3 depending on how saucy you like it)
1tbs soy sauce
1tbs ketchup (more if you prefer it sweeter)
1 onion, sliced
some minced ginger

  • Sautee the ginger & onions with a little oil until transparent
  • Brown chicken breasts in the same pan
  • When chicken is sufficiently browned, add diet coke, soysauce & ketchup
  • Bring to boil, and then simmer for about 20 mins, covered. I keep turning the breasts every so often to ensure that it is all coated with the sauce.
  • Continue simmering for about 10-15mins more, uncovered, to thicken up the sauce. Feel free to add more seasoning – more ketchup or soy sauce.
  • Serve with mash, rice or sliced in a salad/sandwich!
  • I love this – it feels like teriyaki chicken with the amount of stickiness and gooeyness, whilst tasting like a lovely barbequed chicken. Very versatile, it keeps well for the next day as well. If I had any left I would turn it into sliced chicken for a salad or sandwich….I’d be sure to make extra next time. I think the coke tenderizes the chicken, because mine was very tender even after simmering for about 45 minutes. Yum Yum good..

    .

    12 Comments leave one →
    1. July 29, 2010 12:04 pm

      Very interesting Coke chicken! Looks yum in your bento box … Pink bunny is really nice in color. Hope your sore throat will go away very soon 🙂

      • July 29, 2010 7:57 pm

        Thanks Lia – I need to find a better stencil for the pink bunny, but the sakura denbu is such a pretty pink, isn’t it?

    2. Dreymer permalink
      July 29, 2010 2:09 pm

      Thanks for sharing the recipe with me. Sounds like next week’s dinner for the hubs!

    3. July 29, 2010 3:16 pm

      Hope you feel better soon; your happy bento will surely help with that!

      • July 29, 2010 7:59 pm

        Thanks Sheri- yes, it did cheer me up! Suprising what a teeny box of food can do for the spirit!

    4. July 29, 2010 4:57 pm

      Great bento, and the bunny is so cute! Get well soon!

      • July 29, 2010 7:59 pm

        thanks Susan – I hope so too, it really isn’t fun being sick!

    5. July 30, 2010 1:21 am

      The Coke chicken looked so super delicious!!!!
      I saw this recipe before many times but like you I always procrastinate!
      Maybe I should try cooking some one of these days!

      Great bento with lil Ms Bunny to cheer up!

      Hope you will fell better soon!

      • July 30, 2010 7:31 pm

        thanks so much, it’s super simple yet yummy – you’d love it if you like bbq chicken!

    6. July 30, 2010 1:56 am

      Oops, posted this on the wrong bento!

      This looks lovely! I cook my roast beef with Coke too (small bottle plus onion soup mix).

      Found you from Sheri’s tweets, I believe, love finding new bento people! 🙂

      • July 30, 2010 7:32 pm

        thats’ very interesting – I might just try beef with that as well…I think the coke tenderises the meat…yum yum…

    7. July 30, 2010 7:54 pm

      Sorry to hear you are feeling poorly. Get well soon – try Lemsip and Halls Soothers if you are still in UK x x x

    Leave a Reply

