Skip to content

Bento 54: Angry Bird (the red one)

August 1, 2010

bento55a

I am super addicted to the epic iPhone game Angry Birds. The mindless hauling of birds of different shapes and abilities is shockingly addictive, and I’ve spent many hours catalpulting birds across my tiny screen. I sometimes get so engrossed that I worry that I’ll miss my bus stop. My friends and I even name ourselves honorary birds based on our personalities – yeah, we’re quite lame 😉

.

I started off with some celery at the bottom, and a large slice of baked tofu on top. It is capped with a thin layer of rice as my base. The bird is made out of red pepper, polony, carrot beak, teeny cheese half moons and nori cutouts. I’m so stoked to discover polony – it’s some sort of english ‘slicing sausage’ – love the texture, it’s soft enough to cut with a toothpick, tastes like ham and is super cheap. I can imagine it just about on every single one of my bentos!

I added some mini plums, blackberries and a side of peas with a cheery banana baran. The next few weeks is going to be filled with blackberries as it’s blackberry season! I pluck them from the wild, so I guess they’re more brambles than blackberries. I usually turn them all into jams, but having a few in my bentos are great as well for a splash of deep violet color. Someone gave me a bag of mini plums from their tree as well, so they’re going to be making appearances as well. Unfortunately they are not as sweet as they can be, but still very cute and perfect for after lunch dessert.

.

IMG_4174

.

There are many things wrong with this bento. I wanted to make the red part of the bird from egg sheets, only to find out that I have no eggs left. And being a Sunday, the shops were shut pretty early and I couldn’t get any eggs in. I also have no kamaboko nor veggies left, and all I had left was an old wrinkled pepper. AAARgh. So pepper it was, after flattening it out. However, as you would have noticed, a chunk on the end kinda fell out – I don’t know when! I just realised after taking a photo of it.

Not very pleased with the way the pepper slice turned out, butI will probably try this again when I get some eggs in. I plan to make a whole proper series out of this and immortalize all the birds (and the green piggies = enemies) into edible form :). I think it might work with boiled eggs as well…ah…it’s going to be eggs galore for a while!

.

bento55c

All packed in my Paperchase Day Trippers bento – I had to remove the second layer with cutleries, but it all worked out in the end!

.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2010 11:31 pm

    Haha!! Great job!

    • August 2, 2010 8:13 pm

      Thanks Sheri, it got me humming to the theme tune all day long

  2. August 2, 2010 9:34 am

    Perfect angry bird! Great job on the angry eyes … 🙂

    • August 2, 2010 8:13 pm

      thanks! I was going for the annoyed look 🙂

  3. dreymer permalink
    August 2, 2010 9:49 am

    That’s awesome Mils!!!!! I didn’t notice any flaws!! Now must make the blue bird, black bomb bird, yellow speedy bird and white laying egg bird.. and then maybe the boomerang bird too!

    • August 2, 2010 8:12 pm

      hehehehe yeah I intend to do them all….very cool huh

  4. August 4, 2010 6:15 am

    LOL, my daughter and her friend love the bento!!! We play angry birds all of the time. In fact I think we are obsessed with that game! 🙂

    • August 4, 2010 9:03 am

      ahahah! I’m glad I’m not the only addict – such a simple game yet so addictive!

      I bet it looks fab on the iPad…..sighh

  5. nguyen permalink
    August 6, 2012 7:26 pm

    Dear Mils, My niece lost her “Day Trippers” bento box, was wondering if you would resell yours, it would make my niece soooo happy!!! Please email me, thank you so much!

Trackbacks

  1. pret implanturi dentare

Leave a Reply

