Skip to content

Bento 55: Piggy Sammy

August 2, 2010

I don’t make bentos often enough for the husband; also known as bacon to many of my friends for his love of the beforementioned food item. It is difficult preparing two different sort of lunches, and he eyes my crazy bento creations with more than a little skepticism. He likes sticking with the brown bag basic of cheese and pickle sandwich. And that’s it. Just two cheese & pickle sandwich. Nothing else. Maybe a bag of potato chips.

He doesn’t want it cut into shapes, he wants every last crumb of the bread. He doesn’t want any funny side dishes, and he hates using the microwave at his work – no idea why. It is hard work trying to work that into a bento, there is only so much I can do with slices of bread.

I think he would be more open to the bento-ing idea, if only I can work around his bread-and-cheese theme. It would save him time from prepping his lunch in the morning, and since I spend so much time making might, I might as well just make it for him too. Even though he’s working from home tomorrow, I thought he might appreciate me putting together something for him so he can just pick it up and continue working instead of thinking of what to eat.

His lunch contain a giant bun stuffed with pickles, cheese and ham. I incidentally had pikko’s book in the kitchen as well, and the top-left corner was the pig hamburger, so it just inspired me to just cut some ears and nose from polony, nori eyes & mouth and some ketchup dabbed for a pinky cheery look. A cute baran adds character to his lunch, separating the whole apple, mini plums and the guava candy.

bento54

Easy peasy! Not too sure how long can I keep up with this until I run out of ideas, but I will try making one up for him every week – we’ll start from there. He does like SPAM musubis though, so we might start there 🙂

.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2010 8:38 pm

    Good job! I like the idea of no cutting or funny sides. It appeals to the lazy side of me! You’d be amazed how much you can do with a plain round bun or sandwich thin, heh!

    • August 3, 2010 12:10 pm

      Thanks! I take inspiration from you – you turn the most mundane of foodstuff (i.e. baos) into amazing crteatures! Love it!

  2. hypothermya permalink
    August 2, 2010 9:51 pm

    Your piggie is adorable! 🙂 I love how you put a decorative touch on the apple too. It looks really good!

    • August 3, 2010 12:11 pm

      haha I wanted the piggy to wear a flower; but it didn’t look QUITE right…

  3. dreymer permalink
    August 3, 2010 1:47 am

    AWWWW it still looks too cute for a man’s lunch but who cares!!!! KAWAII!!!

    • August 3, 2010 12:12 pm

      hahaha…I think he gobbles all the cute stuff in the toilet before eating the rest normally in front of people 🙂

Leave a Reply

