Skip to content

Bento 56: Angry Bird (the yellow one)

August 3, 2010

bento56b

.

Today I learnt a lesson on never giving up. I tried making the yellow bird from egg sheet the day before, but had stupidly mixed in the whites & yolks and added tumeric to bring out the yellow-ness. However, this just serve to turn it a dull brown dishwater color. Looking at the state of my eggsheet, I was very upset, and actually did not end up making a bento for myself that day.

.

IMG_4208

EVERYTHING about it was wrong. I was really excited about making it initially, and after an whole hour in the kitchen and producing this really sad bird, I was more than ready to throw in the towel. Gaah! After sleeping on it, I asked Lia, the queen of eggsheets, and she advised me that I should just separate the whites from the yolk and just use the yolk for the yellow eggsheet.

And success!!!!!

.

bento56d

Today’s bento is made for the bacon again, a giant bun filled with ham and crumbly onion chutney cheese. I covered the bun with another thin slice of ham to get the contrast. The box is filled with a mini salad, a whole nectarine, a small pot of pickles, a homegrown tomato (our first fruit from the plant!!!) and four wild blackberries.

.

The speedy yellow bird is made from a base of yellow egg sheet and a half-moon of polony. I used two different cheeses for the eyewhites & eyebrow, a carrot beak and teensy nori eyeball, nori tail and hair.

.

bento56e

Here it is, warts and all! You can see I still need to work on my egg sheet.

.

Just as proof that you don’t need cute boxes to start packing a bento, this sammie have been packed in a well-recycled ice cream container :). Yeah I know, here is me saying that you don’t need a cute box for a bento whilst I have a large number stacked up in my kitchen cupboard.

.

bento56c

.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 9:00 pm

    I love these 🙂 Can’t wait to see the rest!

  2. August 3, 2010 9:03 pm

    You are getting expert at the angry bird expression! Recycled ice cream box is genius!

    • August 3, 2010 9:33 pm

      hehehe thanks Sheri! I’m very pleased with this one. Recycled ice cream box kinda looks rough as well, hiding the cuteness that is inside!

  3. August 4, 2010 3:32 am

    You did it! Yellow angry bird is awesome! I should not throw away my ice cream box too. You give us the idea to recycle it 🙂

    • August 4, 2010 8:47 am

      ah, thanks to your egg sheet tips! Now I just need to learn how to color egg sheets in different colours…

  4. August 4, 2010 6:07 am

    Love it!! Awesome angry bird! Is this the bird from the game? It totally looks just like it!

    • August 4, 2010 8:30 am

      Hi susan – thanks, and yes it is!!! I’m working my way through the whole game..hehe.

  5. dreymer permalink
    August 4, 2010 8:16 am

    fantastic!!! perseverance paid off!!!!

    • August 4, 2010 8:46 am

      heehee…its you!!!!

      You’re the annoying speedy yellow bird!

  6. August 4, 2010 3:11 pm

    Chirpy chirpy yellow birdie! Coz your mama made you well!

  7. August 4, 2010 11:09 pm

    Love the angry bird and how you reused the ice cream container..perfect all the way around!

  8. August 9, 2010 1:03 am

    Hey! At least you managed to get the egg sheet right!
    I wasted a couples of eggs and still can’t get anything out and at the end I threw them away after they sat in the freezer for ‘some’ time!

    Very cute bird!

Leave a Reply

