Skip to content

Bento 57: Soba Salad

August 8, 2010
tags: ,

This is what I made sometime last week when I was feeling very lazy. There are days when I don’t mind spending a long time over the kitchen making lunch, but most of the time I’m just plain lazy. Soba is excellent for days like these as it takes only 5 minutes to cook. Dressed with a dipping sauce, it makes for a good wholesome meal. I love it how soba goes so well with a variety of side dishes as well, making it easy to mix and match.

.

bento57

.

I mixed in some wakame with the soba to make it greener and healthier. It is also mixed in with black toasted sesame seeds and nanami togarashi, japanese pepper seasoning. I curled in some smoked salmon to one side, arranged more wakame flat on the noodle, and cut some butterflies out of an egg-yolk sheet. I also included two gyozas and some shelled edamame. In a separate layer, there is more edamame for me to snack on, and a simple dressing made out of sesame oil, apple cider vineger, mirin and honey.

.

Simple, effective, yummy and perfect for summer. It took me only 15mins to assemble this as I’ve already had gyozas cooked for dinner :). How do you eat your soba?

.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2010 9:12 pm

    It looks amazing and I am a huge fan of the simple and easy approach. They usually turn out to be the best anyways 🙂

    • August 8, 2010 9:41 pm

      thanks:). I love soba for being so versatile for ‘simple & easy’ 🙂

  2. August 8, 2010 9:16 pm

    Pretty butterflies! I love soba with shredded nori, green onion and daikon. Mmm!

    • August 8, 2010 9:40 pm

      mmm…good idea. I have chives growing in the garden, so will probably try that with shredded nori & daikon…yumm

  3. August 9, 2010 1:05 am

    Lovely and yummy soba!
    I wonder why my endamame always turned out way darker than others…
    Yours are so bright green and looked so fresh!

    • August 9, 2010 6:38 am

      You might’ve overcooked the edamame? I like mine crunchy,so no more than a few mins in the microwave or boiling water!

  4. dreymer permalink
    August 9, 2010 6:14 am

    the butterflies are so pretty!!!!

    • August 9, 2010 2:04 pm

      the cutters came from Jaya Grocer – RM3.60 only for 12 🙂

Leave a Reply

