Skip to content

Bento 61: Angry Bird (the blue one)

August 16, 2010

Creating the angry bird bento series is turning in something like this little blue bird. Split personality. My red angry bird bento was slightly blah, but forgivable as it was my first one. My yellow angry bird bento, after the second try, impressed even myself (so modest, huh 🙂 ). And now my third one. Hm. It would have been a nice one if I managed to get the blue right. The pretty baby blue is just not easy to replicate at all, and I’ve been putting it back because I’ve been thinking up ways of best replicating the blue.

.

bento61b

.

I smeared sliced cheese with blue food colouring. I very rarely use food colouring as I love natural colouring methods, but pretty blue food is unfortunately very rare! The eyes are made out of the same cheese, nori cutouts for the eyeball & short tail and thin carrot slices for the beak. I never noticed this before, but the blue bird does not actually have any eyebrows…proves what you miss when you’re not paying attention.

.

bento61a

.

The sun was actually shining today, and it inspired me to create something that reminds me of the sun for lunch. Something light, flavourful and tastes excellent in room temperature. Tomorrow’s bento contain pajeon; korean chives pancake. I got my inspiration from David Lebovitz‘s egg-last pa jeon recipe; and I must say, the egg on top does make it really lovely! I’ve included my version of the recipe below. The rest of the bento consist of some sugar snap peas, salted sweetcorn and purple sweet potato cut into flowers and drizzled with a yakitori sauce.

.

bento61c

.

All packed in my (and I think Sheri‘s too!) Daytrippers Bento Box which is available to purchase from Paperchase in Borders in the US or in Paperchase outlets in the UK.

.

benno61d

.

Jeon is the general word for the large variety of savoury Korean pancake. Miles away from the traditional buttermilk American pancake, this savoury snack contains everything from kimchi to prawns and the classic version chives. You can pretty much add anything to it, which reminds me of the japanese Okonomiyaki which I love as well. You can eat it warm straight out of the pan, but many people, me included, love it cold. This makes it perfect for bentos that are made to be eaten at room temperature! I went wth pajeon as I have an out-of-control chive plant/bush growing in the garden, but I love the kimchi version as well. The only trouble is, I love it so much I never have enough for bentos!

.

Pajeon

2/3 cup plain flour
2/3 cup water
1 cup chopped chives or scallions
2 eggs, beaten
salt & red pepper flakes, according to taste

  • Slowly add water to the flour, be sure to stop when the consistency is just right.
  • Add 1 beaten egg, and fold in the scallions and/or chives.
  • Test the consistency, and add more water if needed.
  • Oil a large skillet well, and spread the mixture thinly over the pan, about a few cms.
  • When the pancake is mostly cooked, pour the other beaten egg over the top
  • Stick it under a hot grill for a few minutes, until fully cooked.
  • Slice it up like a pizza!
  • I like to dip mine in a gyoza-like dipping sauce of sugar/vineger/soy sauce, but chilli sauce works very well with it as well. I cut mine into rectangles to properly fit into my box, but wedges are the traditional and easiest shape to cut it into. .

    7 Comments leave one →
    1. dreymer permalink
      August 17, 2010 3:30 pm

      It’s lovely!!!! That’s Elvin, alright! It looks like speckled blue bird. Reminds me of Easter! Good job! Actually natural blue dye can get from blue pea flower. Don’t know if you can get there..

      • August 17, 2010 8:28 pm

        I need to make three of the birds….but it was a weekday and I was lazy. It would be cooler with three birds going in various directions!

        shh…don’t talk about the flower, I’ve actually kidnapped some back with me :). Unfortunately can only be used when warmed up with some vineger….which would totally ruin my cheese. Will be using them for some blue onigiris in the very near future……

    2. August 17, 2010 9:06 pm

      Love chive pancake! Angry bird is sweet. I think blue is the rarest color found in nature. Even true blue flowers are rare. How inconvenient for bento,eh? And you’re right, that’s my Daytrippers box too! Those girls are so cute; they would be cute in the bento too…

      • August 17, 2010 9:28 pm

        I actually found a natural blue food color, but it’s only effective with vineger & heated up…making it useless for cheeses!

        Agreed, they would make great bento characters! I love the size, the fact that it comes with cutleries and a separator. Don’t think they do it anymore though :(…..at least not here in the UK

    3. Hypothermya permalink
      August 18, 2010 9:12 am

      I love all of your birds! I’m really impressed with the blue color here — I’ve never been daring enough to experiment with food coloring. I’m always convinced it’ll turn out badly. But it looks great here! Amazing work!

      • August 18, 2010 9:48 am

        Hehe, thanks – yes, my food colouring experiment had sometimes gone badly, my green egg sheets kept coming out a dusty brown color!!!

        I mostly do try to stick with natural food colouring; love them!

    Trackbacks

    1. Bento 101: The TwitterFoodParty pancake bento! « not a brown bag

    Leave a Reply

