Skip to content

Bento 63: Soboro garden

August 18, 2010

I love soboro, of all sorts. They work so well as an onigiri stuffing, as a side dish, as toppings for noodles…the list goes on. It helps that it is so easy to make as well, season with mirin, sugar and soya sauce; quick stirs in a small pan, and you’re done!

The flavours of mirin, sugar and soya sauce is also extremely tasty. Soboro lasts for a fair few days in the fridge as well, the dryer you cook it the longer it keeps. You can make a big batch and have it in five different ways in the week, saving time and probably money too! I can go on and on….it truly is a perfect dish for those lazy days bentos. A quick and easy way to make dinner; and lunch!

.

bento63

.

So today’s lunch was mince turkey and egg soboro! First I pushed 1/2 cup cooked rice to one half, and laid sugar snap peas on the other half. I topped the rice end with egg soboro, and mince turkey on the other half. More sugar snap peas divides the two halves up.

You can eat this at room temperature, or heat it up in the microwave. I add a nectarine on the top layer for dessert. For a little perk me up, carrot flowers top thin silvers of the sugar snap peas. Two of the faces are cut from polony, with carrot smiles and sesame seed eyes. The flower in the middle has half-peas as eyes and polony as a smile :). I like making smiley faces for my lunches, it puts a smile on my face to set me up for the afternoon session at work. Yeah I know I’m not 12 – but stilL!

.

PS: Have you seen Debra’s back to school BOMB theme? I was going to submit this, as I thought it would be a quick and easy bento to prepare for those lacking inspiration for the new school year; but then realised that it doesn’t really SAY ‘back to school’. Back to the naughty corner for me!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2010 11:29 pm

    Pretty and bright!

  2. August 19, 2010 2:39 am

    Thanks for the BOMB shout out! hehehe, you could submit this and say…ahem… that you gave this to a random student passerby to eat for lunch! LOL!

    • August 19, 2010 9:01 am

      Hahah I like that random student passerby! I like the back to school theme though, so I’ll be sure to incorporate that into my ideas for bentos that I make this month

  3. August 19, 2010 8:47 am

    So pretty! The flowers put a smile on my face, a wide one too!

    • August 19, 2010 9:02 am

      🙂 TY. There is nothing better than a perky lunch to greet me, since I have lunch at my desk and it tends to get a bit tedious

  4. August 19, 2010 9:46 am

    Fun and cute way to decorate your Soboro lunch. I bet everyone want to take a peek for your lunch now hehehe 🙂

    • August 19, 2010 11:33 am

      Thanks Lia – unfortunately, I work in a team of men, so no one was interested at all!! So sad….it’s ok, at least my bento blogging and tweeting friends can admire my effort! 🙂

  5. dreymer permalink
    August 21, 2010 3:37 pm

    Ohhh so very pretty and cheerful! This is what I call a Happy Meal!

    • August 21, 2010 9:12 pm

      hee hee. You can make this one-bowl-meal as a normal meal as well – super easy, tasty and pretty too 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Bento 67: Hen & Chicken Katsu Curry « not another brown bag lunch…

Leave a Reply

