Skip to content

Bento 64: Fishcake piggies soba

August 23, 2010
tags:

Last weekend was two whole days of lovely summery weather – we need more of that here! Naturally that got me thinking of chilled lunches. Heck, everything makes me think of lunch :). Soba is fast turning into one of my staples for summertime bento making! Not only is it very speedy, there is no requirement to wait for the food to cool down before packing and I love my sesame,mirin, vineger, sugar & soy sauce dressing! Anything goes with soba, and everytime I have it, it’s with a different topping…yumms…

.

bento64b

.

Today’s soba (mixed in with wakame) is topped with sliced fish cakes – chinese-style, not kamaboko. The round shapes makes it perfect to be turned into little piggies – I topped one with a crown (king pig hehehe…) and another with a pink ribbon pick and blushing cheeks of chilli sauce. The nose & ears are made from my favourite pink deli meat; polony.

.

bento64a

The rest of the bento contained sliced aburaage (fried tofu – I boiled it before slicing), cherry tomatoes, a nectarine half, and a coconut-rolled mochi which I purchased from the shop. It’s seriously lacking in green, the wakame’s green is so dark it looks almost black. I had run out of lettuce leaves – it would had been perfect lined with lettuce leaves.

.

bento64c

.

All packed in my red urara bento box! I love double tier boxes as it is slim enough to fit in my handbag, and helps me separate the main meal from the dessert. It also really helps if I want to microwave some of my food, I can keep the dessert part separate. The unpacking of it all (taking off the bento belt, removing all the various covers) brings a sense of ceremony during lunch time – something akin to opening presents :). Even if I did pack my presents myself….huh.

.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 8:20 pm

    Cute oinkers! We’re having a soba day today too! Hmmmm…

  2. August 23, 2010 8:32 pm

    Great minds think alike! Can’t wait to see how you make your soba 🙂

  3. August 23, 2010 8:32 pm

    I love cold noodle salads too! And yours is the second piggy themed bento I’ve seen today. 🙂 Love it! Thanks for following me on twitter!

    • August 23, 2010 8:38 pm

      Thanks – I know, I saw Lia’s piggies this morning and just had to smile because I had the same in my lunchbox for the day!

  4. August 24, 2010 12:47 am

    Love your pigcakes on the top of yummy soba! My kids prefer Chinese fishcake rather than kamaboko. I think because we use it a lot in our cooking so they get use to it. We are connected this time with the same piggies theme hehehe … 🙂

    • August 24, 2010 8:34 am

      Yes I actually prefer chinese fishcakes as well. Kamaboko is easier to slice into and looks more vivid, but the texture and flavour of chinese fishcakes are nicer. However, kamaboko’s vivid pink and white is easier to work with, not to mention the softer texture!

      Hehe, I like it when bentos are connected by themes:)

  5. dreymer permalink
    August 24, 2010 7:05 am

    AWWWW.. I love the little piggies!!!!

    • August 24, 2010 8:30 am

      you can make this for your grunting piggy 🙂 .Can incorporate the yellow bird in it too ….hee hee

Leave a Reply

