Skip to content

Bento 67: Hen & Chicken Katsu Curry

August 26, 2010

bento67a

I’ve been inspired by Yum-Yum Bento Box by pikko since I got it a coupla weeks ago. Even without the book, pikko had always been one of my favourite bento blogger, especially her crazy nori cutting skills. I’ve been subconsciously copying ideas without even realising it – cue my garden soboro! One of the characters that I had wanted to copy for ages are the adorable onigiri hens. They are sooo cute…especially with the pink cheeks cut from fish sausage. Unfortunately I cannot source fish sausages here at all, so boohoo to cute pink. However, polony saves the day again! This slicing sausage is very easily available in all UK supermarkets, the soft texture is reminiscense of kamaboko, making it very ideal for shape-cutting!

.

bento67c

.

Today’s bento is made from leftover dinner. I sliced chicken katsu into strips, and that really filled up the smaller tier. I shaped two round onigiris with the cling film method, and added accents of nori, polony and sweetcorn. To keep the sweetcorn and polony in place, I poked through a bit of uncooked spaghetti. Curry sauce is kept separate in a silicon cup. I made a small and simple tamagoyaki from the egg remaining from making the chicken katsu – all sat atop spinach leaves. Suprisingly, this can be classed as speedy, since it is all leftovers and there wasn’t any major cutting that I had to do. Yep, anything less than 10 mins for me is classed as speedy :).

.

bento67b

Even a matching bento belt! I packed this into the one container that I know for sure is microwaveable – I may or may not pop this into the microwave before I eat, but I sure like the option!

.

Pssssst……..Want to win a copy of Yum-Yum Bento? Xelia is running a giveaway until 31st of August – pop on over !

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2010 9:24 pm

    So great! I keep my copy of Pikko’s book at me desk. There are so many amazing ideas in it. You did a great job with this little chickies. And I love that bento band. I make felt bento bands and have them on Etsy! I’d love to know what you think of them. šŸ™‚ http://www.etsy.com/shop/SonomaBento

    • August 26, 2010 9:43 pm

      I love it! Your onigiri bento belt is the bomb – would love to see you come up with more designs.

      Perhaps you could make matching carrying bags too. I have to make-to-measure my own bento box carrying bag as I didn’t want to use the ones sold in daiso ect – and wanted it to match my pink bento box.

  2. August 26, 2010 9:42 pm

    Yes, love the onigiri to match the belt! Supercute!

    • August 27, 2010 7:25 am

      Thanks Sheri – I didn’t realise how much it matched until I was hunting for a bento belt!

  3. August 27, 2010 6:55 am

    So cute! Ideas and inspirations come from everywhere, aren’t they? Saw the belt at Daiso before. There was Panda and Dog one too if I’m not mistaken.

    • August 27, 2010 7:25 am

      Really?? How cool!

      You’re so lucky to have regular access to daiso! This was a gift from a good friend (actually I sent her shopping to Daiso for me:) ), she also got me the bunny bento belt…which I am saving for a bunny spam musubi!

  4. August 27, 2010 7:56 am

    Cute and yummy bento! šŸ™‚ I love how the bento box matches too!

    • August 27, 2010 10:00 am

      Thanks Susan – it would be SO COOL if I had a chicken bento box too! Have not seen a chick/chicken box design before though…

  5. August 27, 2010 8:38 am

    Lovely bento full of chicks, even a matching little chick felt band!!

    • August 27, 2010 10:01 am

      Thanks – I do love the chick bento band – simple but cute!

  6. August 27, 2010 10:10 am

    Cluck cluck! Like your chick theme! Thanks for linking to my giveaway post! Though not many submission but it was really fun reading those that submitted! Thanks once again!

  7. dreymer permalink
    August 31, 2010 9:21 am

    YaY! You used the belt!!!! It looks so cute!!

Trackbacks

  1. Bento 81: Bunnie in a curry « not another brown bag lunch…

Leave a Reply

